ANZCA Council


Council members

The council has 14 voting members (or directors). See the councillor terms of reference here. The quorum of voting members is eight. Representatives of ANZCA committees and sister organisations, and members of staff also attend council meetings.

  Name and Title Region

Dr Rodney Mitchell - President

Rodney Mitchell joined the ANZCA Council in 2010 and took office as ANZCA president in May 2018.

Rodney works in both public and private practice in Adelaide in anaesthesia and intensive care. He holds staff positions in the department of anaesthesia at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital and the department of intensive care at the Lyell McEwin Hospital.

Rodney spent nine years in central Australia, working in remote primary healthcare, retrieval medicine, and more recently as director of anaesthesia at the Alice Springs Hospital. 

Read Rodney's full bio.

View the full list of past ANZCA presidents and faculty deans, including FPM deans.

Dr Vanessa Beavis - Vice-president

Vanessa Beavis joined the ANZCA Council 2012 and is chair of the Training Accreditation Committee, ANZCA Perioperative Medicine Steering Committee and Council representative on the FPM Board.

Vanessa is a specialist anaesthetist working in public and private practice in Auckland. She trained in South Africa and emigrated to New Zealand in 1993. Vanessa is the Director of Anaesthesia and Operating Rooms at Auckland City Hospital, New Zealand.  Her main area of interest, with respect to clinical work, is liver transplantation. 

Read Vanessa's full bio.

Professor David A Scott - Immediate Past President

David A Scott joined the ANZCA Council in 2008 and is chair of the ANZCA Research Committee, Emerging Investigators Subcommitte and International Liaison Group.

David is a Clinical Professor with the University of Melbourne and Director of the Department of Anaesthesia and Acute Pain Medicine at St Vincent’s Hospital in Melbourne.
His clinical interests include regional anaesthesia, acute pain management, vascular and cardiac anaesthesia. 

Read David's full bio.​

View the full list of past ANZCA presidents and faculty deans, including FPM deans.

Dr Meredith Craigie - FPM Dean

Meredith Craigie trained in medicine followed by anaesthesia and intensive care in Adelaide, further specialising in paediatric anaesthesia in the United Kingdom followed by a Masters of Pain Medicine from Sydney University.

Read Meredith's full bio.

Dr Chris CokisCouncillor

Chris Cokis joined the ANZCA Council in 2016 and is chair of the Education Executive Management Committee.

Chris is a Clinical Anaesthetist at Fiona Stanley Hospital, Perth, WA. His interests include Cardiac Anaesthesia and Thoracic organ transplantation.

Dr Scott Ma - Councillor

Scott Ma joined the ANZCA Council in May 2019 and is chair of the Provisional Fellowship Program Subcommittee.

Scott is a
Consultant Paediatric Anaesthetist in the Department of Children's Anaesthesia at the Women's and Children's Hospital, Adelaide.

Read Scott's full bio.

Dr Michael Jones - Councillor / Chair of Examinations

Michael was co-opted to Council in November 2014 and formally elected in May 2015.

Michael has a mixed public/private working profile with interests in perioperative medicine and orthopedic anaesthesia.

Read Michael's full bio.

Dr Sean McManus - Councillor and Honorary Treasurer

Sean McManus joined the ANZCA Council in 2014 and is chair of the Investment Subcommitte, Indigenous Health Committee and Trainee Bursary Evaluation Subcommittee.

Sean is a senior specialist in the Department of Anaesthesia, Perioperative Medicine and Intensive Care at the Cairns Hospital, QLD. 

Read Sean's full bio.

Dr Nigel RobertsonCouncillor

Nigel Robertson joined the ANZCA Council in 2016 and is chair of the Safety and Quality Committee.

Nigel is a staff specialist and former clinical director at Auckland City Hospital, New Zealand. His interests include neuroanaesthesia, interventional radiology, operating room systems as well as organising music festivals.

Read Nigel's full bio.

Dr Rowan Thomas - Councillor

Rowan Thomas joined the ANZCA Council in 2014 and is chair of the ICT Governance Committee.

Rowan is Deputy Director of Anaesthesia at St Vincent's Hospital, Melbourne, VIC. 

Read Rowan's full bio.

Associate Professor Leonie Watterson - Councillor

Leonie Watterson joined the ANZCA Council in 2019 and is chair of the Professional Affairs Executive Committee and the Gender Equity Working Group.

Leonie is a Clinical Associate Professor with the University of Sydney and Director of the Sydney Clinical Skills and Simulation Centre. She works in several public hospitals in Sydney where her clinical practice focuses on obstetric, ENT and neuroanaesthesia and acute pain medicine

Read Leonie's full bio.

Associate Professor Deborah Wilson - Councillor

Deborah Wilson joined the ANZCA Council in 2019.

Associate Professor Deborah Wilson is a consultant Anaesthetist providing anaesthetic services in both public and private practice in North West Tasmania.

Read Deb's full bio.

Dr Christine Vien - New Fellow Councillor

Christine Vien joined the ANZCA Council as New Fellow Councillor in May 2018.

Christine underwent anaesthetic training in Victoria, and now holds a full time public position at St. Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne.

Read Christine's full bio.


In attendance


Name  Title Region
Executive Director of Professional Affairs NZ
Dr Suzi Nou
​President, Australian Society of Anaesthetists
Dr Kathryn Hagen
President, New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists Vic

Mr Anthony Sparnon

President, Royal Australasian College of Surgeons  
Mr Nigel Fidgeon Chief Executive Officer, ANZCA Vic
Dr Ray Raper President, College of Intensive Care Medicine NSW
Dr Kanan Shah, co-chair
Dr Archana Shrivathsa, co-chair
Co-chairs, ANZCA Trainee Committee NSW

Dr Jennifer Woods

Chair, ANZCA New Zealand National Committee NZ


Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.