ASM and Events Planning Committee

Committees navigation


The Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) and Events Planning Committee reports to the Chief Executive Officer on matters relating to operational decisions in relation to the ANZCA/FPM ASM and other educational events run by ANZCA.


Council has developed terms of reference for the committees that report to it. The aim is to streamline both council and committee work by clarifying the purpose of and arrangements for committees, particularly to define which functions are delegated to committees (and reported through to council) and which require council approval. The terms of reference includes standardised definitions of a quorum, voting rules and that electronic decisions should be recorded in the minutes of the next meeting.


Committee members

Title Name Region
Chair, Director of Professional Affairs ASM Dr Nicole Phillips NSW
Deputy Chair, Councillor and fellow/HCI Dr Michael Jones NSW
Member, New Zealand representative Dr Nav Sidhu NZ
Member, ASM Advisor Dr Bridget Effeney QLD
Member, 2020 ANZCA ASM Convenor Dr Ed Debenham WA
Member, 2021 ANZCA ASM Convenor Dr Chris Ball VIC
Member, ANZCA Clinical Trials Network Executive Professor David Story VIC
Member, FPM Scientific Meetings Committee Dr Jennifer Stevens NSW
Director, Fellowship Affairs Ms Jan Sharrock ViIC
Director, Safety and Advocacy Ms Clea Hincks VIC
General Manager, Faculty of Pain Medicine Ms Helen Morris VIC
ANZCA Operations Manager - Events Ms Katie Fagan VIC
ANZCA Chief Executive Officer (ex officio) Mr Nigel Fidgeon VIC
ANZCA President (ex officio) Dr Rod Mitchell SA

To top

Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.