Effective Management of Anaesthetic Crises (EMAC) Course Subcommittee

Committees navigation


The Effective Management of Anaesthetic Crises (EMAC) Course Subcommittee reports to the Education Executive Management Committee (EEMC) and has been formed to provide regular review of the EMAC course content and materials, arrangement of inspection and accredition of facilities proposing to deliver EMAC courses, credentialing of instructors, monitoring of trainee access and provision of advice to Council regarding identified risks to training and intellectual property.

Council has developed terms of reference for the committees that report to it. The aim is to streamline both council and committee work by clarifying the purpose of and arrangements for committees, particularly to define which functions are delegated to committees (and reported through to council) and which require council approval. The terms of reference includes standardised definitions of a quorum, voting rules and that electronic decisions should be recorded in the minutes of the next meeting.


Committee members

Title Name Region


Dr Cate McIntosh


ANZCA Trainee Committee (nominee)

Dr Harry Laughlin



Professor Sandy Garden



Dr Jane Torrie

Fellow Dr Albert Chan HK
Fellow Dr Adam Rehak NSW
Fellow Dr Stuart Marshall Vic
ANZCA President (ex officio) Dr Rod Mitchell SA
Committee Support Officer Ms Bernadette Peace Vic
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.