Indigenous Health Committee

Committees navigation


In July 2010, ANZCA established the Indigenous Health Committee to assess how ANZCA and the Faculty of Pain Medicine can support programs for indigenous health in Australia and New Zealand. The committee is currently focused on initiatives to develop cultural competence, encourage Australian and New Zealand indigenous trainees in anaesthesia and pain medicine, supporting clinicians working in indigenous health and advocacy.


Council has developed terms of reference for the committees that report to it. The aim is to streamline both council and committee work by clarifying the purpose of and arrangements for committees, particularly to define which functions are delegated to committees (and reported through to council) and which require council approval. The terms of reference includes standardised definitions of a quorum, voting rules and that electronic decisions should be recorded in the minutes of the next meeting.


Committee members

Title Name Region
Chair and councillor Dr Sean McManus Qld
ANZCA Fellow Dr Amanda Gimblett NZ
ANZCA Fellow Dr Edward (Ted) Hughes NZ
ANZCA Fellow Dr Paul Mills Qld
ANZCA trainee Dr Dasha Newington Qld
ANZCA Fellow Dr Michele Poppinghaus NSW
ANZCA Fellow Dr Stuart Walker NZ
FPM Fellow Dr Matthew Bryant Qld
ANZCA President (ex officio) Dr Rod Mitchell SA


Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.