Mortality Subcommittee

Committees navigation



The ANZCA Mortality Subcommittee was developed as a collaboration between the chairs of established anaesthetic mortality committees in Australia, under the auspices of ANZCA. The group is chaired by Dr Simon Jenkins, and includes the chairs of all established anaesthetic mortality committees in the region, as well representatives of regions whose committees are in the planning or establishment phase, and other ANZCA representatives.


The ANZCA Mortality Subcommittee prepares triennial reports on anaesthetic mortality. The last report, Safety of Anaesthesia: A review of anaesthesia-related mortality reporting in Australia and New Zealand 2012-2014 can be accessed here.


As not all regions have had continuously functioning anaesthetic mortality committees, the group works to promote the maintenance or establishment of appropriately resourced anaesthetic mortality committees in all states and territories, and in New Zealand. The group also promotes the standardisation of definitions relating to anaesthetic mortality, and the collection of accurate mortality data. The group has supported efforts to establish committees in Tasmania and New Zealand, and is continuing to support efforts in South Australia, Queensland, and the Australian Capital Territory.


The group meets at least once a year, and also reports to the ANZCA Safety and Quality Committee. The group collaborates with the ANZCA Safety and Quality Committee in the continued promotion and improvement of anaesthetic safety in Australia and New Zealand.


Council has developed terms of reference for ANZCA committees. The aim is to streamline both council and committee work by clarifying the purpose of and arrangements for committees, particularly to define which functions are delegated to committees (and reported through to council) and which require council approval. The terms of reference includes standardised definitions of a quorum, voting rules and that electronic decisions should be recorded in the minutes of the next meeting.


Committee members

Title Name Region
Chair Dr Simon Jenkins SA
Chair, ANZCA Safety and Quality Committee  Dr Nigel Robertson NZ
Chair, Anaesthetic Mortality Committee Western Australia
Council on Anaesthetic Mortality and Morbidity
Dr Jennifer (Jay) Bruce WA
Nominee, Victorian Perioperative Consultative Council Dr Andrea (Andy) Kattula Vic
Chair, Special Committee Investigating Deaths Under Anaesthesia in New South Wales Dr Carl D’Souza  NSW
Tasmanian Audit of Anaesthesia Mortality of the Tasmanian Audit of Surgical Mortality Dr Margaret Walker Tas
Chair, New Zealand Perioperative Mortality Review Committee Dr Anthony Williams NZ
Chair, South Australian Anaesthetic Mortality Committee Dr Simon Jenkins SA
 ACT Audit of Surgical Mortality, representative Dr Carmel McInerney ACT
Chair, Queensland Perioperative and Periprocedural Anaesthetic Mortality Review Committee Dr James Troup Qld
NT representative Dr Philip Blum NT
Director of Professional Affairs Policy Dr Peter Roessler Vic
ANZCA President (ex officio) Dr Rod Mitchell SA

To top

Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.