Perioperative Medicine Steering Committee

Committees navigation

The Perioperative Medicine Steering Committee (POMSC) reports to Council on the development and implementation of an effective integrated perioperative care model and education offerings for Australia and New Zealand.
Council has developed terms of reference for the committees that report to it. The aim is to streamline both council and committee work by clarifying the purpose of and arrangements for committees, particularly to define which functions are delegated to committees (and reported through to council) and which require council approval. The terms of reference includes standardised definitions of a quorum, voting rules and that electronic decisions should be recorded in the minutes of the next meeting.

Committee members

Title Name Region
Chair Dr Vanessa Beavis NZ
Deputy chair Dr Sean McManus Qld
ANZCA Perioperative Medicine SIG executive Dr Jeremy Fernando Qld
FPM board member Dr Stephan Schug WA
New Zealand National Committee representative Dr Nicola Broadbent  NZ
College of Intensive Care Medicine representative  Associate Professor Arthas Flabouris SA
Royal Australasian College of Physicians representative  Dr Ming Loh NSW
Royal Australasian College of Physicians representative  Dr Rabin Bhandari SA
Royal Australasian College of Physicians representative Professor Alison Mudge Qld
Royal Australasian College of Surgeons representative Dr Raffi Qasabian NSW
Australian College of Remote and Rural Medicine representative Dr Eugene Wong Qld
Royal Australian College of General Practitioners representative Associate Professor Richard Watts SA
Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners Dr Kathy McDonald NZ
ANZCA Director Education (Acting) Ms Tamara Rowan Vic
ANZCA Director Safety and Advocacy Ms Clea Hincks Vic
Community representative Ms Heather Gunter NZ
Committee support (non-member) Ms Phoebe Navin Vic
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.