Many Fellows and councillors represent the College on the boards, committees and working groups of external organisations. The main bodies and their representatives are indicated below.


Australasian College of Emergency Medicine

Pre-hospital and Retrieval Medicine Committee (PHRM)
ANZCA representative Dr Peter Roessler                     
ANZCA representative        Dr Dean Bunbury


Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine

ACRRM National Telehealth Advisory Committee                
ANZCA representative  Dr Brian Spain                       


Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (ACSQHC)

Prescribing of antimicrobials for surgical prophylaxis 
ANZCA representative Dr Bridget Langley                    


Australian Council on Healthcare Standards

ANZCA representative        Dr Margaret Cowling               


Australian Diabetes Society and ANZCA Working Group

ANZCA representatives              Dr Judith Killen and Dr Roger Traill  


Australian Institute of Health and Welfare

National Maternal Mortality Advisory Committee for the National Maternity Data Development Project
ANZCA representative        Dr Alicia Dennis                       


Australian and International Standards Committees

Coordinator of anaesthesia representative on external standards committees
ANZCA Representative  Dr Chris Joseph                       

Standards Australia Committee for ISO TC 121 Anaesthetic and Respiratory Care Equipment
ANZCA Representative Dr Chris Joseph
Standards Australia Mirror Committee for ISO TC 210 (Quality Management and Corresponding General Aspects for Medical Devices
ANZCA Representative Dr Phoebe Mainland

Electromedical Equipment - IEC TC 62D Common aspects of medical electrical equipment used in clinical practice - Alarms (JWG with ISO TC/3)

ANZCA Representative Dr Chris Thompson                

HE-033 Vendor credentialling for health care facilities 

ANZCA Representative  Dr Ian Graham                      

Australian Maternity Outcomes Surveillance System Advisory Committee

ANZCA Representative Dr Nolan McDonnell               


Australian Medical Association

Anaesthesia Coordinating Committee
President  Dr Rod Mitchell                 
Vice President Dr Vanessa Beavis
National Conference          
President or nominee Dr Rod Mitchell


Australian and New Zealand Tripartite Anaesthesia  Data Committee

ANZCA members:  
Chair Dr Neville Gibbs                                        
ANZCA President (ex officio) Dr Rod Mitchell
ANZCA CEO (ex officio) Mr John Ilott
Member Professor Alan Merry
Member     Dr Margaret Walker
Medical director     Dr Martin Culwick


Australian Resuscitation Council

ANZCA representative      Dr Michael Parr
ANZCA representative Dr Christopher Scarff


Australian Society of Anaesthetists

Council (President or nominee) Dr Rod Mitchell

Joint ANZCA/ASA Anaesthesia Industry Liaison Committee

Chair Dr Anthony Coorey
ANZCA president Dr Rod Mitchell
ANZCA vice-president Dr Vanessa Beavis
ASM officer Dr Vanessa Beavis
Member (ASA) Dr Piers Robertson
Member (healthcare industry) Ms Fiona van Blerk

National Scientific Congress Federal Organising Committee

Overseas Development and Education Committee

Dr Michael Cooper

Professional Issues Advisory Committee Dr Rowan Thomas


College of Intensive Care Medicine of Australia and New Zealand

Board (president or nominee) Dr Rod Mitchell
CICM Education Committee (ex officio) Dr Ian Graham
CICM NZ National Committee (ANZCA NZNC chair)  Dr Jennifer Woods


Council of Presidents of Medical Colleges (Australia)

ANZCA president Dr Rod Mitchell


Indigenous Health Subcommittee

ANZCA representative  Dr Penny Stewart


Australian Department of Health and Ageing

Medical Services Advisory Committee (MSAC)

Rapid review of existing Medicare Benefits Schedule perfusion services

ANZCA representative Dr Andrew Jackson


Council of Medical Colleges of New Zealand

ANZCA New Zealand National Committee chair  Dr Jennifer Woods

Faculty Pain Medicine Board

ANZCA representative Dr Vanessa Beavis


Hunter Postgraduate Medical Institute Board (Australia)

 ANZCA representative Professor Anthony Quail


Joint Consultative Committee on Anaesthesia

ANZCA representative Dr Rod Mitchell
ANZCA representative Dr Neville Green
ANZCA representative Dr Andrew Michael
ANZCA representative Dr Brian Spain

Ministerial Advisory Committee on Surgical Services (Australia)

ANZCA representative Dr Daryl Williams

Ministry of Health Disaster Response Preparedness (NZ)

ANZCA New Zealand National Committee representative Dr Maurice Lee


National Blood Authority (Australia)

Expert Working Group on Patient Blood Management Guidelines

ANZCA representatives Associate Professor Larry McNichol and Dr Wally Abeypala


Clinical Consumer Reference Group for the review of PBM Guidelines Module 1

ANZCA representative Dr Michael Parr

Clinical Consumer Reference Group for the review of PBM Guidelines Module 2: Perioperative

ANZCA representative Dr Ben Slaterr

New Zealand Anaesthesia Education Committee

ANZCA New Zealand National Committee representatives Dr Kerry Gunn and Dr Jennifer Woods


New Zealand Anaesthetic Technicians Society

ANZCA New Zealand National Committee representative Dr Geoff Long


New Zealand Resuscitation Council

ANZCA representative Dr Malcolm Stuart

New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists

Executive Committee (ANZCA president or nominee)  Dr Rod Mitchell
ANZCA New Zealand National Committee chair 

Dr Jennifer Woods


Neuroscience Research Australia

ANZ Hip Fracture Registry Clinical Standards Group

ANZCA representative Professor David A Scott


Painaustralia Board

ANZCA/Faculty of Pain Medicine representative Dr Newman Harris


Royal Australasian College of Surgeons

Council (President or nominee) Dr Rod Mitchell
National Trauma Committee Associate Professor John Moloney
Care of the Critically Ill Surgical Patient (CCrISP) Committee Dr Colin King / Dr Kerry Benson-Cooper
RACS Global Health Committee Dr Michael Cooper


Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists

Practical obstetric multi-professional training program steering committee

ANZCA representatives Dr Alicia Dennis and Dr Michael Shaw


Steering Committee for implementing the PROMPT course for obstetric emergency response in Australia and New Zealand

ANZCA representative Dr Michael Shaw


Australian and New Zealand Audits of Surgical Mortality

ANZCA representative Associate Professor Larry McNicol 

Migrant Women's Health Initiative

ANZCA representative Dr Elizabeth Hessian 

Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners’ Division of Rural Hospital Medicine Board of Studies

ANZCA New Zealand National Committee representative
Dr Vaughan Laurenson


Society of Obstetric Medicine of Australia and New Zealand (SOMANZ)

Guidelines for the Management of Sepsis in Pregnancy

ANZCA Representative Dr Maggie Wong             


Society for Paediatric Anaesthesia in New Zealand and Australia (SPANZA)

SPANZA Executive

ANZCA Representative Dr Patrick Farrell (ex-officio)   


Therapeutic Goods Administration (Australia)

Advisory Committee on Prescription Medicines (ACPM) (appointed by the TGA)

ANZCA nominee Richard Halliwell (direct appointment)


Advisory Committee on Medical Devices

ANZCA nominees Professor Guy Ludbrook and Dr Joanna Sutherland


Victorian Consultative Council on Anaesthetic Mortality and Morbidity

ANZCA nominee TBA
ANZCA nominee
Dr Philip Ragg
ANZCA nominee
Dr Christopher Bain
ANZCA nominee
Associate Professor Larry McNichol


Term of appointment: three years

ANZCA nominees on committee: four

Current term: TBA



To top


To update this information, please email

Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.