Research Committee

Committees navigation


The Research Committee assesses research applications for projects related to anaesthesia, resuscitation, perioperative medicine, intensive care or pain medicine carried out in Australia or New Zealand. The committee also provides recommendations to the Council on the award of project grants, scholarships/fellowships and the Harry Daly Research Fellowship.


Council has developed terms of reference for the committees that report to it. The aim is to streamline both council and committee work by clarifying the purpose of and arrangements for committees, particularly to define which functions are delegated to committees (and reported through to council) and which require council approval. The terms of reference includes standardised definitions of a quorum, voting rules and that electronic decisions should be recorded in the minutes of the next meeting.


Committee members

Title Name Region
Chair  Professor David A Scott Vic
Deputy chair Professor David Story Vic
Faculty of Pain Medicine representative Professor Stephan Schug WA
Chair, ANZCA Clinical Trials Network Executive Professor Philip Peyton Vic
Community representative Dr Angela Watt Vic
Member Dr Jane Baker NSW
Member Professor Matthew Chan HK
Member Associate Professor Alicia Dennis Vic
Member Dr Matthew Doane NSW
Member Associate Professor Lis Evered Vic
Member Professor Andrew Klein UK
Member Professor Alan Merry NZ
Member Professor Simon Mitchell NZ
Member Professor Anthony Quail NSW
Member Associate Professor Timothy Short NZ
Member Professor Andrew Somogyi SA
Member Professor Jennifer Weller NZ
Member Professor Britta Regli-Von Ungern-Sternberg WA
Member Professor Andre van Zundert Qld
ANZCA President (ex officio) Dr Rod Mitchell SA

 To top

Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.