ANZCA Research Foundation Committee

Committees navigation


The Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists established the ANZCA Research Foundation in 2007 to support medical research and education. The foundation's mission is: "To support medical research and education that saves lives, helps people to optimise their health, and works to make life as pain-free as possible".

Its vision is: "To be a leader in funding high-quality research and education in anaesthesia, perioperative and pain medicine"

The foundation pursues its mission by raising funds to:
  • Increase the safety and comfort of patients undergoing anaesthesia and sedation.                                                     
  • Improve outcomes for critically ill patients following surgery or trauma.
  • Improve the treatment of acute pain, cancer pain and persistent non-cancer pain.
For more information visit the ANZCA Research Foundation website.

Council has developed terms of reference for the committees that report to it. The aim is to streamline both council and committee work by clarifying the purpose of and arrangements for committees, particularly to define which functions are delegated to committees (and reported through to council) and which require council approval. The terms of reference includes standardised definitions of a quorum, voting rules and that electronic decisions should be recorded in the minutes of the next meeting.


Committee members

Title Name External Title
Chair Dr Genevieve Goulding Councillor, past ANZCA president and senior staff specialist at Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital
Chair, Research Committee
(or nominee)
Professor David A Scott Immediate Past ANZCA President and Director of Department of Anaesthesia and Acute Pain Medicine at St Vincent's Hospital
Honorary Treasurer Dr Sean McManus Councillor and senior staff specialist at Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital
President Dr Rod Mitchell ANZCA President
Member ANZCA staff Mr Robert Packer General Manager, The ANZCA Research Foundation
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.