Safety and Quality Committee

Committees navigation


The Safety and Quality Committee implements ANZCA Council policy, provides advice to the council and coordinates and promotes safety and quality of activities.


Council has developed terms of reference for the committees that report to it. The aim is to streamline both council and committee work by clarifying the purpose of and arrangements for committees, particularly to define which functions are delegated to committees (and reported through to council) and which require council approval. The terms of reference includes standardised definitions of a quorum, voting rules and that electronic decisions should be recorded in the minutes of the next meeting.


Committee members

Title Name Region
Chair Dr Nigel Robertson NZ
Deputy chair Associate Professor Joanna Sutherland NSW
ANZCA president (ex-officio) Dr Rod Mitchell  
Faculty of Pain Medicine representative Dr Susan Lord  
Australian Society of Anaesthetists president (or nominee) Dr Suzi Nou  
New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists president (or nominee) Dr Kathryn Hagen  
Mortality Sub-Committee chair (or nominee) Dr Simon Jenkins SA
Anaesthetic Allergy Sub-Committee chair (or nominee) Dr Richard Scolaro Qld
Community representative Ms Helen Maxwell-Wright Vic
Member Dr Brien Hennessy WA
Member Dr Leona Wilson NZ
Member Dr Martin Culwick Qld
Member Professor Guy Ludbrook SA
Member Professor David Story Vic
Member  Dr Phillipa Hore Vic
Director of Professional Affairs - Professional Documents Dr Peter Roessler  
Director, Safety and Advocacy Ms Clea Hincks  

 To top

Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.