SA/NT Regional Committee

Welcome to the website of the South Australia and Northern Territory Regional Committee of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists. The committee is involved in training, continuing medical education and issues pertaining to anaesthesia in South Australia and the Northern Territory. The committee advises the ANZCA Council on regional issues, convenes continuing medical education events for fellows, runs examination preparation courses for trainees and provides a forum for liaison between training hospitals and the college. Our website highlights activities undertaken by the committee and provides easy access to material relevant to fellows and trainees.


Contact us

ANZCA SA NT Regional Office

168 Ward Street
North Adelaide SA 5006
P: +61 8 8239 2822

If you are a patient and would like to know more about anaesthesia, please click here.


South Australia Anaesthetic Mortality Committee (SAAMC)

The South Australian Anaesthetic Mortality Committee's role is to analyse adverse event information, specifically patient mortality, from health services related to anaesthesia with the objective of recommending quality improvement initiatives. This will assist in formulating action areas to prevent or reduce the likelihood or severity of future adverse events. All reports submitted are confidential and will be de-identified before review.

CPD points for submitting reports to SAAMC

Anaesthetists submitting a report to the South Australia Anaesthetic Mortality Committee can claim continuing professional development points under the ANZCA Continuing Professional Development Program, while assisting the committee in its objective of ensuring the continued safe practice of anaesthesia.


Download a mortality report template here if you are an anaesthetist or here if you are a surgeon or proceduralist.

Expansion of the surgical mortality audits includes the collaboration between the South Australian Audit of Surgican Mortality (SAASM) and the South Australian Anaesthetic Mortality Committee (SAAMC). Click here for further information.

Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.