Specialist International Medical Graduates Committee

Committees navigation


The Specialist International Medical Graduates (SIMG) Committee reports to the Education Executive Management Committee (EEMC) and hence the ANZCA council on assessment of specialist international medical graduates (SIMG) for practice in Australia and New Zealand.


Council has developed terms of reference for the committees that report to it. The aim is to streamline both council and committee work by clarifying the purpose of and arrangements for committees, particularly to define which functions are delegated to committees (and reported through to council) and which require council approval. The terms of reference includes standardised definitions of a quorum, voting rules and that electronic decisions should be recorded in the minutes of the next meeting.


Committee members


Associate Professor Michael Steyn

Deputy Chair and Director of Professional Affairs Policy Dr Peter Roessler Vic
Councillor, FESC nominee, Chair of Examinations Dr Michael Jones NSW
Director of Professional Affairs SIMG Dr Leona Wilson NZ
Director of Professional Affairs Assessor

Dr Vaughan Laurenson

Chair, New Zealand Panel for Vocational Registration Dr Chris Harrison NZ
Councillor Dr Scott Ma SA
Fellow Dr Brendan Ingram Vic
Fellow Dr Carina Koorts Qld
Fellow Dr Indu Kapoor NZ
Fellow Dr Tilo Klinger TAS
Faculty of Pain Medicine assesor Dr Dilip Kapur SA
Faculty of Pain Medicine representative Dr Diarmuid McCoy Vic
Community and/or jurisdictional representative Ms Helen Maxwell-Wright Vic
ANZCA President (ex officio) Dr Rod Mitchell SA
Committee Support Officer Ms Amy Wu Vic



Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.