Tasmanian committee members

The Tasmanian Regional Committee is an elected body that act as a conduit between fellows and trainees in the Tasmanian region and the ANZCA council to which they report.

Council has developed terms of reference for the committees that report to it. The aim is to streamline both council and committee work by clarifying the purpose of and arrangements for committees, particularly to define which functions are delegated to committees (and reported through to council) and which require council approval. The terms of reference includes standardised definitions of a quorum, voting rules and that electronic decisions should be recorded in the minutes of the next meeting.

Tasmanian Regional Committee


Name Position
Dr Lia Freestone Chair 
Dr David Alcock Deputy Chair and Perioperative Officer
Dr Colin Chilvers General member
Vacant CME Officer
Dr Angela Ralph Education Officer (co-opted)
Dr Jeremy Sutton TAC Officer and Northern representative (co-opted)
Dr Andrew Messmer Safety and Quality Officer
Dr Jack Madden Welfare Officer (co-opted)
Dr Adam Mahoney General member
Dr Margo Peart North West region representative
Dr Chris Wilde New fellow representative
Associate Professor Deborah Wilson Ex Officio council representative
Dr Mike Challis ASA representative
Dr Nina Loughman FPM representative
Dr Jana Vitesnikova Trainee Committee Chair and representative


Meeting dates

  • Thursday February 6, 2020
  • Thursday March 19, 2020
  • Thursday June 25, 2020
  • Thursday September 3, 2020
  • Thursday November 26, 2020
The Tasmanian Trainee Committee meet during the week preceding the TRC meeting.


ANZCA Strategic Plan 2018-2022 and regional committees' terms of reference

See links here for the ANZCA Strategic Plan 2018-2022 and ANZCA regional committees' terms of reference.


Tasmanian Strategic Plan 2019-2022

The Tasmanian Regional Committee Strategic Plan 2019–2022 is based on ANZCA’s four main goals of the ANZCA Strategic Plan 2018–2022 of  Leading, Growing, Driving and Supporting. This document outlines the strategic directions for the Tasmanian Regional Committee for this period. Feedback is welcome.

Tasmanian Regional Committee newsletter

The December 2019 edition of the Tasmanian Regional Committee Newsletter is now available by clicking here.

Tasmanian Trainee Committee for 2020

Dr Jana Vitesnikova (Chair)
Dr Brigit Ikin (Co-deputy Chair)
Dr Dylan Siejka (Co-deputy Chair)
Dr Sophie Maslen
Dr Sally Perks
Dr David Somerville-Brown
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.