Trainee Bursary Evaluation Subcommittee

Committees navigation


The Trainee Bursary Evaluation Subcommittee (TBESC) reports to ANZCA council via the Education Executive Management Committee (EEMC) on the successful applicants for the trainee bursary, following adjudication using the criteria outlined in these terms of reference. A maximum of 20 bursaries are awarded annually for ANZCA trainees experiencing financial difficulty. The bursary will be awarded in the form of a 50% reduction in the annual training fee.


Council has developed terms of reference for the committees that report to it. The aim is to streamline both council and committee work by clarifying the purpose of and arrangements for committees, particularly to define which functions are delegated to committees (and reported through to council) and which require council approval. The terms of reference includes standardised definitions of a quorum, voting rules and that electronic decisions should be recorded in the minutes of the next meeting.


Committee members

Title Name Region
Chair and Honorary Treasurer Dr Sean McManus QLD
Executive Director of Professional Affairs and deputy chair Dr Leona Wilson NZ
New fellow councillor Dr Christine Vien Vic
Community representative Ms Helen Maxwell-Wright Vic
Director of Education Dr Robert O'Brien Vic
ANZCA President (ex-officio) Dr Rod Mitchell SA
Committee Support Officer Ms Cristina Lombardo Vic
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.