Associate Professor Deborah Wilson (TAS)

Tasmania fellow (1998)

MBBS 1984, Associate Fellowship RACMA 2015, GAICD 2017, Graduate Certificate in Teaching & Learning for Health Professionals 2014, Completed ANZCA Teacher Course 2010

Nominated by: Dr M Reeves (TAS) and  Dr C Krellman (TAS)

I have the skills, experience and qualifications required for ANZCA Council. 
  • Appropriate qualification (GAICD / ARACMA) and significant health governance experience.

  • A strong background in education with ANZCA and the university sector.

  • Leadership experience in anaesthesia, the Tasmanian Health Service and the University of Tasmania.

  • A strong interest and understand of the workforce challenges facing anaesthesia including ongoing workforce maldistribution.

  • A belief that good governance requires gender equity (current council 10 men; three women) and diversity of representation (the council has no representation from a rural or small regional centre).

  • Experience working in both public and private anaesthetic practice in a rural community for over 20 years.

Relevant past and current professional appointments in anaesthesia

  • VMO Anaesthetist Tasmania - North West Regional Hospital/ North West Private hospital/ Mersey Community Hospital 1998-2019; 

  • Co-Director Anaesthetic Department - 2018/19

  • Supervisor of Training- ANZCA 2009-2013; 2016-2017

  • Supervisor of Training for ACEM trainees on anaesthetic rotation 2009-2017

  • SOT for JCCA Trainees 2009-2017

  • Honorary Specialist appointment - Royal Children's Hospital - Melbourne 2006-2011

  • Fellow in Obstetric Anaesthesia at British Columbian Women's Hospital, Vancouver, Canada 1997-1998

Current and/or previous service on college committees


  • Curriculum Review Working Committee 2013-2014

  • Trainee Progress Review Panel - Participated as panel member and chair 2011-2015

  • Tas Regional Committee - Quality and Safety officer 2009-2013. Member 2017-2019

  • Tasmanian State-Wide Anaesthetic Training Committee 2010-2013; 2017-2019.

  • Member review of non-specialist pathways in Anaesthesia, Chair of sub-committee looking at non-specialist pathways

Past and/or current offices in other medical professional organisations

  • Director Rural and Regional Training Hub - University of Tasmania 2017-2019

  • Governing Council Member - Tasmanian Health Service 2015- 2018

  • Chair, THS Governing Council Safety and Quality Sub-Committee 2015-2018

  • Governing Council Member - Tasmanian Health Organisation - North West 2012-2015

  • Audit and Risk Committee Member THO - NW 2012-2015

  • Co-Director Rural Clinical School - University of Tasmania 2012-2015

  • FRAME (Federation of Rural Medical Educators) Policy group member 2014-2016 in other colleges (ACEM, RANZCOG and Rural Generalism) 2013


Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.