Associate Professor Leonie Watterson (NSW)

New South Wales fellow 1997

MBBS 1989, Master of Clinical Education 2007, Graduate Certificate in Organisational Coaching and Leadership 2017, Graduate Diploma in Organisational Coaching and Leadership (TBC June 2019)

Nominated by: Dr C McIntosh (NSW) and   Dr R Mitchell (SA)
I am a Sydney-based anaesthetist with interests in obstetric, ENT and neuroanaesthesia and acute pain medicine. I have post graduate qualifications in education, organisational leadership and coaching which reflect my long-standing commitment to education and professional development. As an early developer of simulation, I co-developed the EMAC course and maintain ongoing research interests in simulation, human factors and airway management.

I have served on numerous ANZCA committees focussed on policy, professional standards and CPD and currently chair the ANZCA Professional Affairs Executive Committee and the Gender Equity Working Group. I have extensive leadership experience through management roles and committee work for government and non-government organisations. I will be an innovative councillor focussed on patient safety, community engagement and environmental sustainability within anaesthesia and pain medicine.

Relevant past and current professional appointments in anaesthesia


  • Senior Staff Specialist Dept of Anaesthesia and Pain Management, Royal North Shore Hospital (1997-present).

  • Director, Sydney Clinical Skills and Simulation (2000-present).

  • Royal Hospital for Women, NSW, VMO, (2008-pres), Acting codirector (2018-pres).

  • Prince of Wales Hosp. NSW, VMO 2008-pres

Current and/or previous service on college committees


  • PAEC, 2016-present, Chair 2018 onwards.

  • NSWACE Chair (2009-2010).

  • ANZCA Simulation SIG, Chair (2007-2010).

  • Anaesthesia Education SIG, Executive Committee (2002-2008)

  • CPD Committee (2018-:-present).

  • Fellowship Affairs Committee (2010-2016).

  • NSWACE (2000-2010).

  • Gender Equity Working Group (2017-present).

  • Transition to CICO Airway Management Working Group (2012-2014)

  • Standards for providers of CPD Mandatory Emergency Response workshops: CICO and ALS. Working group & certifying teams (2013).

  • Professionalism Taskforce (2005).

  • Integrated approach to Quality & Patient Safety Taskforce (2005)

Past and/or current offices in other medical professional organisations

  • Clinical Assoc. Prof. Sydney Medical School, University of Sydney (2009-present).

  • Australian Society for Simulation in Healthcare (ASSH): Inaugural (2007-2011).

  • Company Director, Simulation Australia

  • Commonwealth Dept of Health & Aging: Health Workforce Australia NHETSim Management Committee (2013-2014), Health Workforce Australia Simulated Learning Environments Project Advisory Group (2010-2014), Chair EMEAC (2007 -2009), Chair, Training Models Working Group 

  • Australian Council for Safety & Quality in Healthcare "National Patient Safety Curriculum Project" Clinical Reference Group (2004-05). MCNSW Performance Assessment Program. Assessor (2002 - ongoing periodic role).

  • Northern Sydney Local Health District: Between the Flags Committee, 2011-2017

  • Resuscitation Advisory Committee, 2017-pres

  • Royal Hospital for Women, Junior Medical Officer Wellbeing Committee, 2018-present

  • Royal North Shore Hospital, Junior Medical Officer Wellbeing Committee, 2016-present

  • NSW Health Education and Training Institute Hospital Skills Project (HSP) Reference group (2005-07).

  • NSW Dept. of Health - Safety Improvement Program Education Committee (2004)

Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.