Dr Rodney Mitchell (SA)

South Australia fellow 2004

BMBS (1988), DA (UK) 1991, Dip Obs RACOG (1992), FRACGP (1995), FAICD (2015)                                                                                       
Nominated by: Prof D A Scott (VIC) and Dr V Beavis (NZ)
As a councillor, and now as ANZCA President, I have strived to ensure we remain clearly focussed on maintaining world-class safety and quality in the delivery of clinical care, and adequately addressing the professional needs of our colleagues. Ensuring equity of access to high quality clinical care remains, I believe, one of our greatest challenges, particularly in relation to marginalised members of our community, to our rural communities, and to our neighbours in lower income countries. The other key opportunity to improving patient outcomes lies through the continued development of perioperative medicine, both as an area of increased expertise for all anaesthetists, and as a recognised subspecialty for those who wish to pursue this discipline further.

Relevant past and current professional appointments in anaesthesia


  • Consultant Department Anaesthesia The Queen Elizabeth Hospital SA 2007-Present

  • Consultant Intensive Care Unit Lyell McEwin Hospital SA 2007-Present

  • Private Practice with Southern Group Anaesthetic Specialists

  • VMO Critical Care with Memorial Hospital SA, Burnside Memorial Hospital SA, and North Eastern Community Hospital SA

  • Director Department Anaesthesia Alice Springs Hospital 2005-06

Current and/or previous service on college committees


  • Councillor 2009-Present

  • Executive Committee 2016 – Present (Chair 2018 – present)

  • FARM Committee 2016 – Present

  • ACECC 2018 – Present

  • ANZTADC – 2018 – Present 

  • CPMC – 2018 – Present 

  • Faculty Pain Medicine Board 2018 – Present

  • Overseas Aid Committee – 2018 – Present 

  • SIMG Committee 2018 – Present 

  • Professional Conduct triage Group 2016- 2018

  • Chair Professional Affairs Executive Committee 2014-2018

  • CPD Committee 2010-Present (Chair 2010-13)

  • Indigenous Health Committee 2011-Present (Chair 2011-2015)

  • Joint Consultative Committee Anaesthesia 2013-Present (Chair 2014-15)

  • Fellowship Affairs Committee 2010-2014 (Chair 2013-14)

Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.