Awards and grants

The Geoffrey Kaye Museum of Anaesthetic History is an award-winning and accredited museum. The museum also supports the research and intepretation of the history of anaesthesia and pain medicine.

Anaesthesia and Pain Medicine History and Heritage Grant

The Anaesthesia and Pain Medicine History and Heritage Grant program is an ANZCA initiative to assist with the research and interpretation of the history of anaesthesia and pain medicine. The program provides up to $5000 to fellows and trainees to undertake history and heritage projects.

Image caption: “Saint Jerome in his study”, oil painting by a follower of Joos van Cleeve. Image courtesy of the Wellcome Collection under Creative Commons licence.

The types of projects supported by the grant program include:

  • Recorded oral histories

  • Conservation of objects and records

  • Commissioning of significance statements on objects or collections

  • Development and production of exhibitions

  • Training in collections management

  • Design and production of interpretation panels and heritage walks

  • Digitisation of collection objects

  • Digital storytelling, including podcasts and film

  • Consultancy fees for the provision of specialist skills

  • Museum standard storage cases

  • Purchase of archival quality materials.

Submissions for the 2019 grant program close on September 27, 2019.

View the grant guidelines and application form.

2018 grant recipient

Dr Michael Toon was the inaugural recipient of the ANZCA History and Heritage grant and will be undertaking an oral history project on obstetric anaesthesia in Queensland. 


Museums Australia Victoria award winner

The Geoffrey Kaye Museum of Anaesthetic History has received the Archival Survival Award for Volunteer-Run Museums for their suite of online programs.  The 2017 Victorian Museum Awards were presented on Wednesday 26 July at ACMI (Australian Centre for the Moving Image) by Museums Australia (Victoria) – the peak body for 1,000+ museums and collecting organisations. The night was hosted by performer, writer, producer, and director, Lawrence Leung and featured a special address by Martin Foley MP, Minister for Creative Industries. Read more about the award on the museum blog.

David M Little Jr Prize winner

In October 2016, the Geoffrey Kaye Museum of Anaesthetic History was awarded the David M Little Jnr Prize for audio visual media for the online version of Trailblazers & Peacekeepers. The prize is awarded annually by the Anesthesia History Association during the Chicago meeting of the American Society of Anesthesiologists.

The David M Little Jnr Media Prize is awarded to the best original work published in English in the preceding year across three categories: books, journal articles and audio visual media. Dr David M Little Jnr was a long-time Chair of Anesthesia at Hartford Hospital in Connecticut and, for many years, wrote the “Classical File” series of history columns for the Survey of Anesthesiology.

While the exhibition naturally looks to historical accounts of war, a highlight of the exhibition is the contributions made by current serving defence personnel and those drawn from living memory. They have offered personal glimpses into the difficulties, frustrations and rewards that come with experience in a conflict zone whether the situation is man-made, such as the Rwanda genocide, or natural disasters, such as the Boxing Day Tsunami.

Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.