Garry David Phillips prize


The Garry David Phillips Prize, which takes the form of a medal, is awarded for outstanding achievement within the Masters of Medicine program in Anaesthesia at the School of Medicine and Health Sciences, University of Papua New Guinea.


The prize was established in 2012 to honour the work of Garry David Phillips in service to the Papua New Guinea anaesthetic community. Professor Phillips first spent time in PNG as a cadet patrol officer or “kiap” at Kikori in the Gulf province during his early twenties. After returning to Australia to study medicine he returned to PNG as an instructor on the country’s first Early Management of Severe Trauma Course in 1993. Professor Phillips subsequently became the first visiting Professor of Anaesthesia to PNG from 1995 to 2006, supporting the further development of anaesthesia as an emerging specialty and the development of the Anaesthetic Scientific Officer course at the University of Papua New Guinea.

The Garry David Phillips Prize was established to replace Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists’ Prize – M.Med,  Papua New Guinea.




  • 2017 (not awarded)

  • 2016 Dr Isaac Amiki

  • 2015 (not awarded)

  • 2014 Dr Elizabeth Inaido

  • 2013 Dr Maria Moguna

  • 2012 Dr Jack Puti



Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.