A private practice perspective on the new CPD requirements


Supporting documents

30x30-pdf-icon.png  : PowerPoint slides

30x30-download-icon.png  : Download 


Part 1 

Part 2

Part 3

30x30-time-icon.png  Duration: 11 mins 07 secs
30x30-size-icon.png  Full screen: No
30x30-hd-icon.png  High definition: No

Watch Part 2 Part 3


This podcast is delivered in three parts, and provides an overview of the revised ANZCA/FPM CPD program and standard, outlining how these changes affect practitioners in private practice. 


Part 1 outlines where the ANZCA/FPM CPD project is going and where we have been over the past 20 years, as well as discussing the current regulatory environment. 


Part 2 examines international standards and looks at two Australian medical colleges and their CPD programs, the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons and the Royal Australasian College of Physicians.


Part 3 examines what the 2014 CPD program will mean to you, where you can find further information and how you can help by providing feedback about the program.


About the presenter

Dr Richard Waldren became an ANZCA councillor in May 2013.  He works full time in a large private practice of 27 anaesthetists in Hobart.  After graduating from the University of Melbourne, Richard completed most of his anaesthetic training in Tasmania, as well as in South Australia.  He has been a staff specialist at the Royal Hobart Hospital as well as an assistant professor at University California Davis Medical Centre.


As well as being a past ANZCA state chair, he has also been Australian Society of Anaesthetists state chair and been involved with running both ANZCA annual scientific meetings and ASA national scientific congresses. He likens the experience of coming back onto ANZCA Council at this time to the ancient Chinese curse "May you live in interesting times!".


60x60-info-icon.png If you have trouble listening to the audio, please contact your local information technology support or call ANZCA on +61 3 9510 6299 (business hours).



Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.