Joining the ANZCA and FPM CPD program

Non-fellows and specialist international medical graduates

The ANZCA and FPM CPD program is open to all registered medical practitioners who choose to join the program as non-fellows. Those in the non-fellow category may include, for example, general practitioners who practice anaesthesia in Australia, and New Zealand general registrants with a scope of practice restricted to anaesthesia in New Zealand.


Specialist international medical graduates (SIMGs) undergoing assessment by ANZCA may also be required to enrol in the CPD program, and are classified as a non-fellow.


Non-fellows must complete the same CPD requirements as ANZCA or FPM fellows, depending on the participant's practice type. They receive the same access to the CPD portfolio system and other college benefits such as the services of the ANZCA Library.


Non-fellows will also be included in the selection for the annual verification of CPD activities.

For non-fellows, an annual fee is payable in order to participate in the ANZCA and FPM CPD program.


An annual fee will be confirmed on an annual basis following the November ANZCA Council meeting.  An invoice will be sent to all CPD partcipants following this meeting.  A reminder will be sent for all unpaid invoices by January 30 annually.  Any unpaid invoice by June 30 may result in the closure of your CPD portfolio until full payment is received.



Provisional fellowship trainees


When you begin provisional fellowship training (PFT), you will automatically be enrolled into the ANZCA and FPM CPD program, and you will be given access to the CPD portfolio.  Your CPD requirements are detailed in Regulation 37 Training in Anaesthesia, leading to FANZCA, and Accreditation of Facilities to Deliver this Curriculum, as follows:


37.13.12 Trainees completing PFT must participate in the ANZCA and Faculty of Pain Medicine CPD Program throughout PFT. The requirement is at least 60 CPD credits per 52 weeks. 




Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.