Acute Pain


The executive of the Acute Pain Special Interest Group (SIG) meets regularly, usually via teleconference, to discuss matters related to the group's area of interest. Please feel free to contact any of the listed executive members.



The Acute Pain SIG will hold a session at the upcoming 2018 joint ANZCA ASM and RACS ASC, on May 9, 2018 at the International Convention Centre  (ICC), Sydney, at 2-3.30pm. The theme of the meeting is “The perioperative period”, and sessions are as follows:

Pre-operative opioid weaning. Worth the effort? - Professor Oscar de Leon-Casasola @OscardeLeonMD
Discharge medication...make the right choices! - Professor Pam Macintyre
Transitional pain services – caring for complex pain patients perioperatively - Professor Stephan Schug

Past events

The Acute Pain SIG held a session at the ASA NSC on Sunday October 8, 2017, at the Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre. For further information please visit the meeting website.


Keep track of the latest resources in Acute Pain with our new Library Guides.



For copies of past resources, please contact Events, on +61 3 9510 6299.


Acute pain services require a significant number of core forms which require updating. In an attempt to reduce the time acute pain services requires for this, the SIG is posting specimen forms supplied by members. These may be copied, trialled and adapted to local requirements. PCA forms, general forms and epidural forms.


If you have forms you wish to offer, please send these to the SIG. If there are forms your service requires that are not posted here, please discuss these requirements.


Discussion forum

To access to Acute Pain Forum on the ACE website, please following this link. 



If you would like information on joining the Acute Pain Special Interest Group, please download an application form or contact Events, on +61 3 9510 6299.


Executive committee


Position Name Region
Chair Professor Stephan Schug WA
Member Dr Myles Conroy Vic
Member Dr Christine Huxtable SA
Member Dr Trudi Disney Tas
Co-opted member Dr Steve Jones NZ
Member Dr Chantal McNally Vic
Member Dr Gavin Pattullo NSW
Member Dr Adrian Sultana NSW
Member Dr Roger Tan WA
Member Dr Jane Trinca Vic


Further information: Events, +61 3 9510 6299 or visit the ACE website.


 To top


Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.