ANZCA announces new CEO

Mr John Ilott is the new chief executive officer of ANZCA. He is an experienced CEO and senior executive in both the public and private health sector.         

John IlottMr Ilott was a key player in the formal establishment of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) in 2010 where he was the Director of Finance and Corporate (2009-2014). 


He has headed several other organisations including the Victorian branch of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia, the Victorian division of St John of God Pathology and hospital management company Healthcare Management Services.


He also has vast experience in public and private hospitals as chief executive or general manager at Wangaratta District Base Hospital, St Andrew’s Private Hospital (Ipswich) and the Mater Hospital (Rockhampton).  More recently he has been a consultant in business development. 


Mr Ilott brings strong skills in leadership, change management and corporate governance to ANZCA and he has built sound relationships with government, the health professions and other stakeholders. He has a strong commitment to service and quality and an open collaborative style. 

Mr Ilott said it was a privilege to be joining ANZCA as chief executive officer.  


“I have worked closely with the medical profession throughout my career and without exception I have enjoyed the close working relationships that have developed,” he said.


“Over the years I have formed a number of close associations with anaesthetists so I am familiar with the workplace and I appreciate the hard work that the leaders of the profession have contributed to the recognition it enjoys today. The ongoing development of the Faculty of Pain Medicine also provides a wonderful synergy to extend the reach of the profession more widely into the community.


“I am excited by the opportunity to lead this prestigious organisation and to continue the strong and visionary leadership of the profession.”


Mr Ilott starts at the College on Monday September 28. 

Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.