Medication name changes

From April 2016, the Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) will be enforcing a variety of medication name changes.         

The TGA action aligns with names used internationally. 

The table below summarises those that may be relevant to anaesthetists. For a full list, please see here.

Significant changes will require dual labelling (that is, will show both old and new name on the product label) for three years. Noradrenaline and adrenaline will be dual labelled indefinitely. 

Anaesthesia medications – active ingredient name changes

Old name New name 
Adrenaline adrenaline (epinephrine)*
Amoxycillin amoxicillin
Atracurium besylate  atracurium besilate
Benztropine mesylate benzatropine mesilate
Cephalexin cefalexin monohydrate 
Cephalothin sodium cefalotin sodium
Cephazolin cefazolin
Cholecalciferol colecalciferol
Cyclosporin ciclosporin
Ethacrynic acid etacrynic acid
Frusemide furosemide (frusemide)
Glycopyrrolate glycopyrronium bromide (glycopyrrolate)
Hydroxyurea hydroxycarbamide (hydroxyurea)
Indomethacin indometacin
Lignocaine lidocaine (lignocaine)
Noradrenaline acid tartrate noradrenaline (norepinephrine) acid tartrate monohydrate*
Phenobarbitone phenobarbital (phenobarbitone)
Salcatonin calcitonin salmon (salcatonin)
Tetracosactrin tetracosactide (tetracosactrin)

* Medicines containing adrenaline and noradrenaline will need to show both the old and new name on labels indefinitely


Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.