New councillors

Dr Nigel Robertson (NZ) and Dr Chris Cokis (WA) have been elected to ANZCA Council. All councillors standing for re-election were successful.
The election of Dr Robertson and Dr Cokis, who replace the retiring Dr Lindy Roberts (WA) and Professor Alan Merry (NZ), will be formally declared on May 2, 2016 in Auckland during the ANZCA annual general meeting being held at the ANZCA Annual Scientific Meeting.
ANZCA President Dr Genevieve Goulding, one of four standing councillors to be re-elected, congratulated Dr Robertson and Dr Cokis on their success and said they would bring vast knowledge and experience from NZ and WA to ANZCA Council.
The other re-elected councillors are Dr Rod Mitchell (SA), Dr Patrick Farrell (NSW) and Dr Richard Waldron (Tas).
Dr Scott Ma (SA) was elected to the position of new Fellow councillor. He had been co-opted in 2015 following the resignation of the previous new Fellow councillor.
There was strong interest in this year’s election with nine candidates nominating for six positions and three candidates nominating for the new Fellow councillor position. Dr Goulding thanked the unsuccessful candidates for taking the time to nominate and their interest in the College.
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.