Reg 11 Robert Orton Medal


College Arms

Australian and New Zealand
College of Anaesthetists
ABN  82 055 042 852


The Robert Orton Medal was established by the Faculty of Anaesthetists, Royal Australasian College of Surgeons, in 1967 and represents the highest honour that the College bestows.


11.1        This award is made at the discretion of ANZCA Council, the sole criterion being distinguished service to anaesthesia, perioperative medicine and/or pain medicine.


11.2        Nominations for the award will be considered at any ANZCA Council meeting.


11.3        All nominations will be made in writing, formally proposed by two members of ANZCA Council, and submitted to the chief executive officer at least 30 days before the ANZCA Council meeting.


11.4        Each nomination will be accompanied by the curriculum vitae of the nominee.


11.5        ANZCA Council will vote on the nomination by secret ballot.


11.6        No award will be made unless at least three-quarters of the voting members of ANZCA Council present and voting vote in favour with abstentions not being counted in the total number of votes.


11.7        Nominations rejected by ANZCA Council may be reconsidered if formally proposed and seconded at a subsequent ANZCA Council meeting.


August 2013



Inaugural awards were made in 1968 to:
Harry John Daly, NSW, Founder Board Member, Faculty of Anaesthetists, Royal Australasian College of Surgeons

George Frederick Anson, NZ, Foundation Fellow

Margaret McClelland,Vic, Foundation Fellow

Subsequent awards:1973  John Russell Ritchie, NZ

1974  Geoffrey Kaye, VIC
1975  Ralph Reginald Clark, VIC
1975  Charles Ashur Sara, NSW
1976  Kevin McCaul, VIC
1983  Brian Eric Dwyer, NSW
1985  Maurice James Wilson Sando, SA
1987  Teresa Rita Cramond, OBE, QLD
1987  Robin William Smallwood, VIC
1988  Douglas Joseph, NSW
1989  Noel Morris Cass, VIC
1989  William Moncrieff Crosby, VIC
1989  Gordon Alfred Harrison, NSW
1990  Gwenifer Catherine Wilson, NSW
1991  Thomas Christopher Kenneth Brown, VIC



1993  Ross Beresford Holland, NSW
1994  Arthur Barrington Baker, NSW
1995  Benedict John Barry, NSW
1995  Peter David Livingstone, Qld
1996  Geoffrey Malcolm Clarke, WA
1997  Jeanette Rae Thirlwell Jones, NSW
1998  Not awarded
1999  Walter John Russell, SA
2000  Not awarded
2001  Not awarded
2002  Not awarded
2003  Not awarded
2004  Francis Xavier Moloney, NSW
2004  Graham Chudleigh Fisk, NSW
2004  John Raymond Archdall Rigg, WA
2005  Cindy Aun, HK
2005  Pamela Macintyre, SA
2005  Garry David Phillips, SA
2007  Teik Ewe Oh, WA
2008  Michael John Cousins, NSW
2009  Peter Kam, NSW
2010  Paul Stewart Myles, VIC
2011  Duncan Islay Campbell, NSW

2012  Leona Fay Wilson, NZ

2014  Kate Leslie, Vic

2014  William Ben Runciman, SA
2016  David Andrew Story, Vic
2016  Stephan Alexander Schug,WA
2016  Alan Forbes Merry, NZ
2018  Richard George Walsh, NSW


Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.