Reg 21 Douglas Joseph Professorship


College Arms

Australian and New Zealand
College of Anaesthetists
ABN  82 055 042 852


The Douglas Joseph Professorship was established by the Faculty of Anaesthetists, Royal Australasian College of Surgeons, in 1991. It is a prestigious award which is awarded for Fellows who are making an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the specialty to pursue scholarship and research in human anaesthesia in Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Malaysia and Singapore.  The award was adopted by the College following its establishment.

  • 21.1 The Professorship is awarded quadrennially at the discretion of the College Council, to ANZCA Fellows in Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Malaysia or Singapore.
  • 21.2 All applications must be received by the College by COB April 1 and will be processed by the ANZCA Research Committee as per the guidelines for the Professorship.
  • 21.3 Each application must be submitted on the application form, which will detail the nominated area of work and the way in which the study will be carried out, and be accompanied by a full curriculum vitae, and the names of three referees to whom reference may be made.
  • 21.4 The emolument will be determined quadrennially by the College using the interest from the Douglas Joseph Bequest.
  • 21.5 The tenure of the Professorship will be approximately one year, but variations may be made at the discretion of the ANZCA Research Committee.
  • 21.6 During the term of appointment, the appointee will hold the courtesy title of “Douglas Joseph Professor of Anaesthesia”.
    21.7 The appointee will attend the appropriate ANZCA Annual Scientific Meeting as the Australasian Visitor and will deliver a lecture on the subject of the Professorship. Visits to one or more regional centres in Australia and/or New Zealand will also be required.
  • 21.8 The appointee will be bound by the terms and conditions of the Professorship.
  • 21.9 The ANZCA Research Committee reserves the right to cancel or terminate the Professorship if in its opinion the purpose of the appointment is not pursued.





Inaugural Award

  • 1993 Laurence Edward Mather Project: 'Consequences of using mixtures of left and right handed stereoisomers for anaesthesia in the management of pain'
    Australasian Visitor’s Lecture (1994)
    ‘Chirality is in your hands’
  • 1997 Arthur Barrington Baker Project: ‘Development in the use of low flow and closed circuit anaesthesia which allows for the breath by breath measurement of the patient’s oxygen consumption (vO2) and nitrous oxide uptake (vN2O), together with computer driven control of the gas inflow to the anaesthetic circuit’
    Australasian Visitor's Lecture (1998)
  • 2001 Guy Lawrence Ludbrook Project: ‘Safer induction of anaesthesia through simulation’
    Australasian Visitor’s Lecture (2002)
    ‘Evolution: The Key to Survival’
  • 2005 Kate Leslie Project: ‘Dreaming During Anaesthesia and Anaesthetic Depth’
    Australasian Visitor’s Lecture (2006)
    ‘Dreaming Under Anaesthesia’
  •  2009 Paul Myles Project: 'Perioperative Epidural Analgesia for Major Abdominal Surgery and  Incidence of late Cancer Recurrence'
    Australasian Visitor’s Lecture (2010)
    ‘Stochasticity in Clinical Medicine'
  • 2013 Britta Regli-von Ungern-Sternberg Project: ‘A new prediction strategy to prevent respiratory complications in paediatric anaesthesia’
    Australasian Visitor's Lecture (2014)
    ‘Respiratory complications in paediatric anaesthesia’
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.