ANZCA is responsible for the training, examination and specialist accreditation of anaesthetists and pain medicine specialists in Australia and New Zealand. In any given year there are about 1500 trainees undergoing training accredited by ANZCA in Australia and New Zealand. 


Anaesthetists spend at least seven years in postgraduate training. This includes two years of prevocational experience and five years in specialist anaesthesia training after graduating from medical school.


The training required of a specialist anaesthetist before they are awarded Fellowship of ANZCA is detailed in College regulations, curriculum and handbooks.


For Australian and New Zealand trainees, see regulation 37 and the ANZCA Handbook for Training and Accreditation.



If you would like to provide feedback to the College please do so in accordance with the ANZCA Feedback Management Policy. Your feedback should be directed via the contact us page.

Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.