2004 training program

The below overview of the 2004 ANZCA training program is applicable to trainees completing their training under the 2004 curriculum.




The 2004 ANZCA training program

The 2004 ANZCA training program includes 104 weeks of basic training and 156 weeks of advanced training. During the course of approved training, trainees are required to successfully complete:

  • Five years of supervised clinical training at approved training sites.
  • Both the primary and final examination.
  • A program of 12 modules.
  • An Effective Management of Anaesthetic Crises (EMAC) or Emergency Management of Severe Trauma (EMST) course or equivalent.

The hospital will be part of a rotation that will provide each trainee with the broad clinical experience required of a specialist anaesthetist. This means that each trainee will be required to work in more than one ANZCA-accredited training facility prior to obtaining fellowship.


Basic training

Basic training comprises the first 104 weeks of supervised training. At least 52 weeks of basic training must be spent within the ANZCA regions.


During basic training, a medical practitioner must:

  • Complete 104 weeks of approved training.
  • Complete modules 1 and 3.
  • Complete at least one of the clinical modules (4 through 10).
  • Pass the primary examination.

While it is no longer required in basic training, it is desirable that the professional attributes component, module 2, be completed in this phase.


Once these training components have been completed, a medical practitioner can enter advanced training. Trainees are required to remain in basic training until all components have been successfully completed.

Advanced training

Advanced training comprises the final 156 weeks of supervised training. At least 104 weeks of advanced training must be spent within the ANZCA regions.


During advanced training, trainees must:

  • Complete the remaining clinical modules (4 through 10) not completed during basic training.
  • Complete module 11 (Education and Scientific Enquiry), including the formal project.
  • Complete the Professional Attributes and Professional Practice module components (modules 2 and 12 respectively).
  • Pass the final examination.
  • Complete the EMAC or EMST course, or equivalent, if not already completed. 



Upon completing all requirements of the ANZCA training program, a medical practitioner may apply for fellowship of the College. For more information, see the Fellowship page.

Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.