Modules and Assessment

Assessments in the 2004 curriculum consist of the following:


In-training assessments

The ITA process aims to:
  • Facilitate discussion and the setting of appropriate clinical and educational goals for the training term, between a trainee and their supervisor of training.
  • Assess a trainee's progress towards obtaining these goals.
  • Provide trainees with regular, constructive feedback.
  • Identify and develop any remedial activities that may be required.
The ITA process uses the curriculum framework, which has been implemented in the 2010 hospital employment year.  Trainees are required to undertake in-training assessments (ITA) for each period of accredited training or at least every 26 weeks.


Curriculum modules

Modules are components of the curriculum that match specific learning objectives with clinical experience.  Your module supervisors will review and discuss your progress against the requirements. Upon satisfactory completion of all requirements, the module completion form (or a copy) should be sent to the College.

Module 1 Introduction to Anaesthesia and Pain Management
Module 2 Professional Attributes
 Module 3 Anaesthesia for Major and Emergency Surgery
 Module 4 Obstetric Anaesthesia and Analgesia
 Module 5 Anaesthesia for Cardiac, Thoracic and Vascular Surgery
 Module 6 Neuroanaesthesia
 Module 7 Anaesthesia for ENT, Eye, Dental and Maxillofacial Surgery
 Module 8 Paediatric Anaesthesia
 Module 9 Intensive Care
 Module 10 Pain Medicine - Advanced Module
 Module 11 Education and Scientific Enquiry
Including the Formal Project (overview) (frequently asked questions)
Module 12   Professional Practice


Monitoring training


Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.