Rotations and training sites

Training site accreditation

ANZCA accredits training sites (hospital departments or health service facilities within the same health centre organisation or complex that are recognised by the College for providing training experience) throughout Australia, New Zealand and ANZCA regions in Asia. Before a department is accredited for approved vocational training (AVT), it is visited by the college to assess its ability to provide training and supervision of the required standard, and its degree of compliance with ANZCA professional documents. ANZCA’s Training Accreditation Committee (TAC) oversees the process and makes recommendations based on reviewers’ reports.

More information can be found in the ANZCA Handbook for Accreditation.

Rotational training schemes

All accredited training sites must be part of an approved rotational scheme. This is a regionally based, rotational arrangement involving a group of approved training sites which together provide trainees with a comprehensive and integrated training experience covering the essential requirements of all ANZCA training. It is the training site’s responsibility to arrange its own inclusion in a rotation, in conjunction with the regional/national committee, rotational supervisors and other relevant parties.


Applying for accreditation

To apply for accreditation, the training site must first contact their regional/national committee to arrange becoming part of a rotational training scheme. Once agreed that the training site can become a part of an exisiting rotational training scheme, a letter of support from the regional committee along with this form should be submitted to

For satellite accreditation applications, or an increase in duration of accreditation application, please use the same form.


Approval of departments

The college approves departments of anaesthesia as a whole as being suitable for training; it does not approve a particular number of posts. The number of trainees is decided by the hospital. Each approved training site is accredited for a maximum duration across the three training periods (IT, BT and AT) that may be spent in the Anaesthetic Department at that training site, determined in part by its ability to expose trainees to a broad range of settings in which specialist anaesthetists work, and its capacity for appropriate training for specialised study units, volumes of practice (cases, procedures, time), the ANZCA Roles in Practice and ANZCA Clinical Fundamentals.


The criteria for determining duration of accreditation can be found in the ANZCA Handbook Accreditation (Section 11).


ANZCA approved training sites

A list of ANZCA approved training sites and their directors of anaesthesia can be obtained by clicking the relevant state or country in the following table. Please email any changes to


Australian Capital Territory Tasmania
New South Wales  Victoria
Queensland Western Australia
South Australia and Northern Territory New Zealand

Accreditation visitors

Fellows interested in becoming training site accreditation visitors can apply by completing and submitting this form to

Maximum duration of training

The maximum duration at any one training site in clinical anaesthesia during introductory, basic and advanced training is specified as 26 weeks, 52 weeks, 104 weeks and 156 weeks. It should be noted that satellite accreditation is a specific exception, and that time spent at a satellite is included in the maximum time available at the partner hospital. Time spent at any hospital in excess of this maximum duration does not count (with the exception of extended training) towards AVT, so it is important to be aware of these limits.

The maximum training time for which you will be credited at any one training site is 208 weeks (four years), i.e. total training of all sorts (clinical anaesthesia time, other clinical time, clinical support time and permitted normal leave) cannot exceed 208 weeks in any one training site during AVT. 

Duration of extended training mirrors the duration of accredited anaesthesia training, up to a maximum of 104 weeks:

  • Hospital accredited for 26 weeks will also be accredited for 26 weeks extended training time.

  • Hospital accredited for 52 weeks will also be accredited for 52 weeks extended training time

  • Hospital accredited for 104 weeks will also be accredited for 104 weeks extended training time.

  • Hospital accredited for 156 weeks will also be accredited for 104 weeks extended training time.


Intensive care medicine (ICM)

At least 11 weeks FTE OCT (excluding leave) in ICM must be completed during basic training (BT) plus advanced training (AT) (regulation 37.8.3). From the start of the 2016 hospital employment year this must be continuous and can only be interrupted by up to two weeks leave.. ICM (core) may be undertaken with prospective approval on a part-time basis, but the training undertaken must represent only clinical time in ICM. Please note:

  • Additional training in ICM may be undertaken during IT (maximum one week) plus BT plus AT, and this additional time will be counted as OCT. There is no minimum continuous duration during which this additional ICM training may be undertaken. The maximum OCT (including minimum 11 weeks FTE Intensive Care Medicine is 38 weeks across IT plus BT plus AT, any time beyond the 38 weeks will not be counted as the trainee is deemed to be in interrupted training

  • Any training in ICM, whether the compulsory 11 weeks or any additional training counted as OCT, may be credited towards AVT as ICM or OCT only if it is undertaken in a unit accredited by the College of Intensive Care Medicine, for either limited general (G6) or General (Gen) training. The regulations are explicit that only time spent in these units can be counted towards anaesthesia training. Time spent in a unit which is classified by the College of Intensive Care Medicine as Foundation will not be accredited towards AVT.

Accredited intensive care units

The College of Intensive Care Medicine core approval ratings for each hospital can be found by clicking here. Accredited units for core training towards Fellowship of the College of Intensive Care Medicine are designated as:

  • Limited General Training (G6) – C6 prior to 2014

  • General Training (Gen) – C12 and C24 prior to 2014


Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.