Specialist Training Program

About the Specialist Training Program


The Specialist Training Program (STP) is an Australian government initiative that helps to fund accredited specialist training rotations in settings beyond traditional public teaching hospitals.
The program aims to:

  • Increase the capacity of the health workforce to train specialists.

  • Provide specialists with training that matches demand and reflects the way health services are delivered.

  • Develop networked specialist training arrangements, which are:

    • An integrated series of accredited training sites focused on health care and through which trainees may rotate in the pursuit of specialist qualification.

    • Based on health service delivery requirements of a region with the education potential of training sites matched to the health-service delivery inherent in increased availability of a specialist trainee workforce.

ANZCA has been funded to manage the Specialist Training Program and the associated contracts for training posts in anaesthesia and pain medicine.
Advocacy for the timely decision, announcement and implementation of the continuation of funding and the operational guidelines for the Specialist Training Program (STP) is a campaign being driven by ANZCA's Safety and Advocacy unit.

For more information contact the STP team on +61 3 9510 6299 or stp@anzca.edu.au.

Expression of Interest for Reserve List

The next round of EOI is now live. And will be open for a five week period, closing at 5pm (AEDT) Tuesday 20 November 2018.

This EOI will be used to expand college reserve lists available under the program. This EOI will only target rural and private settings. This list will be utilised to fill posts when vacancies become available.

If an EOI is deemed suitable, the EOI will be placed on a Reserve List to be managed by the college.

Please see the Department of Health’s webpage for more information, and to apply http://www.health.gov.au/internet/main/publishing.nsf/Content/work-spec

Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.