ANZCA Council

The ANZCA Council governs the college with the support of the FPM Board and various committees.

Its roles include reviewing and approving the annual strategic plan and budget, and developing and monitoring key performance indicators and other benchmarks.

The council has 14 voting members (or directors). The quorum of voting members is eight. Representatives of ANZCA committees and sister organisations, and members of staff also attend council meetings.



In attendance

Name  Title Region

Mr Nigel Fidgeon 
Chief Executive Officer Vic

Dr Leona Wilson

Executive Director of Professional Affairs


Dr Katherine Gough

Dr Nicole Muir
Co-chairs, ANZCA Trainee Committee NSW


Dr Sally Ure
Chair, ANZCA New Zealand National Committee NZ

Dr Suzi Nou

​President, Australian Society of Anaesthetists


Dr Kathryn Hagen

President, New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists


Mr Anthony Sparnon

President, Royal Australasian College of Surgeons


Dr Ray Raper

President, College of Intensive Care Medicine


Committees of the ANZCA Council

A number of committees support the Council in achieving its objectives. In May of each year, the council confirms the appiontment of office bearers, committee chairs and membership roles.

Find out more

ANZCA regulations

The regulations govern the conduct and management of the College, consistent with the objectives of ANZCA's Constitution. The ANZCA Council is responsible for making, amending and repealing all regulations.

Find out more


Information on ANZCA Council, FPM Board, and regional and national committee elections, including upcoming elections, eligibility, and campaigning rules.

Find out more

Strategic plan

The ANZCA Strategic Plan 2018-2022 guides our college-wide business activity. It's the result of comprehensive consultation and engagement within the ANZCA community and beyond. 

Find out more

Last updated 15:09 24.09.2020