Environmental Sustainability Working Group

The Environmental Sustainability Working Group (ESWG) reports its activities and initiatives to the Professional Affairs Executive Committee (PAEC).​ 

We're committed to minimising the health impact of climate change and promoting environmental sustainability. We endorse the benefits of environmental sustainability to our fellows, trainees, specialist international medical graduates (SIMGs) and the broader community.

The working group was established in October 2019 to promote environmental sustainability by evaluating the current practices within ANZCA and to gather information about sustainability activities undertaken by fellows, trainees and specialist international medical graduates (SIMGs) in their local workplaces throughout Australia and New Zealand.

The group aims to identify gaps in the current information and resources related to education and training in this area and foster a bi-national approach to environmental sustainability in anaesthesia, perioperative medicine and pain relief. 

Committee members




Chair Dr Scott Ma SA
Member Dr Adam Crossley WA
Trainee Dr Jessica Hegedus NSW
Member Dr Eugenie Kayak Vic
Member (FPM) Dr Irina Baleanu-Mackinlay Vic
Member Dr Forbes McGain Vic
Member Dr Kerstin Wyssusek Qld
Member Dr Stephen Lightfoot NSW
Member Dr Felicity Pugh NZ
Member Dr Tharindu Vithanage Qld
Member Dr Winnie Yu Qld
Member Dr George Zhong NSW
Executive Director, Fellowship Affairs Ms Jan Sharrock Vic
Membership Manager Ms Hannah Sinclair Vic
Committee Support Officer Ms Gabby White


For further information on the group’s activities please contact us

Committee meeting calendar

College committee members can find details about committee meetings in Networks under the "My Networks and Committees" button.

Find out more about …

Last updated 11:18 11.08.2020