FPM Board Annual Business Meeting

Minutes

Meeting date:	5 May 2024
Meeting time:	12.00-12.30pm AEST
Meeting venue:	Room F1 (Foyer level), at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, Queensland

Members:

Dr Kieran Davis Dr Dilip Kapur Dr Leinani Salamasina Aiono Le-Tagaloa Dr Amrita Prasad A/Prof Susie Lord Dr Murray Taverner Prof Michael Veltman Dr Scott Ma Dr Amanda Wisely

In attendance:

Mr Nigel FidgeonANZCA CEOMs Martina OttenExecutive Director FMs Anna KleskovicFPM Board and Exe

Apologies:

Dr Tipu Aamir (NZ) Dr Nikolai Bogduk (NSW) Dr Chris Cokis (NSW) A/Prof Roger Goucke (WA)

Fellows present:

Dr Hannah Bennett (Qld) Dr Thomas Chalk (Qld) Dr Chi Wing Chang (HK) Dr Larissa Cowley (Qld) Dr Meredith Daff (SA) Dr Michael J Davis (NSW) Dr Poshitha De Silva (Qld) Dr Paul Frank (Qld) Dr Andrew Goldbert (Vic) Dr Chris Hayes (NSW) FPM Dean FPM Vice-Dean and Dean-elect Member and Vice-Dean-elect New Fellow member Member Member ANZCA Council representative Member

ANZCA CEO Executive Director FPM FPM Board and Executive Committee Secretariat

Dr Vyhunthan Ganeshanathan (WA) Dr Geoff Speldewinde (ACT) Dr Noam Winter (Vic)

- Dr Irina Hollington (SA) Dr Edward Hughes (NZ) Dr David Jones (NZ) Dr Craig Kennedy (Qld) Dr Sharon Keripin (SA) A/Prof Kok Khor (NSW) Dr Pamela McIntyre (SA) Dr Faizur Noore (NSW) Dr Stiofan O'Conghaile (Vic) Dr Mark O'Donnell (Qld)
- Dr Rob Park (NZ) Dr Rachel Sara (NZ) Dr Vidya Shirumalla (NSW) Dr Ian Thong (Qld) Dr Jane Thomas (NZ) A/Prof Michael Vagg (Vic) Dr Zoe Vella (Qld) Dr Melissa Viney (Vic) Dr Paul Wrigley (NSW) Dr Tai-Tak Wan (NSW)



Item		Speaker
1.	Chair's welcome and apologies The Dean welcomed FPM board members, fellows and staff to the 2024 Annual Business Meeting of the Faculty of Pain Medicine. Apologies as detailed above.	Chair
2.	Confirmation of minutes	Chair
۷.	The minutes of the FPM Annual General Meeting held on 7 May 2023, were accepted as an accurate record of the meeting.	Chair
3.	FPM Dean's report	Chair
	The Dean's report was noted.	
	The floor was opened to questions, with the following items raised: the faculty's response to the ABC episode on 'Four Corners of Pain Medicine"; the need for a pain devise implant registry; the MRFF grant opportunities in support of health and medical research; current barriers for fellows to participate in the Procedures Endorsement Program; the lack of procedures featured in the current curriculum and the resulting impact on trainees; the role of the faculty in the pacific.	0
	Following the recent death of Prof Michael Cousins, the college is discussing an award to be offered in his honour the 2025 ASM.	
	The Dean extended his thanks and appreciation to the efforts of fellows, committee members, trainees and staff in the ongoing work of the faculty.	
	Members noted the FPM Dean's report provided by the Dean.	
4.	2023 Annual report and financial report A complete set of the financials from the 2023 Annual Report was made available via the website in the lead up to the meeting, with no questions arising.	M Otten
	Members noted the financial reports for the year ending 31 December 2023.	
5.	Declaration of the polls for election of members to the FPM Board	Chair
	Five nominations were received for two vacancies on the 2024 FPM Board. The faculty proceeded to an election between 20 January to 8 February 2024, with a 47% of FPM fellows participating in the election.	
	The dean congratulated Dr Leinani Aiono-Le-Tagaloa on her appointment as the FPM Vice-Dean, A/Prof Susie Lord on her re-election to the board and welcomed Dr Irina Hollington to the FPM Board. Members noted that Dr Tipu Aamir has been co-opted back onto the Board.	
	The unsuccessful candidates, Dr Timmy Chi Wing Chan and Dr Alan Nazha were thanked for nominating.	
	Members noted the outcome of the declaration of the polls for the 2024 FPM Board election.	
6.	FPM Dean's Prize	Chair
	The 'FPM Dean's Prize' was not awarded.	
	FPM Best Free Paper Award	
	The award is judged on the best contribution to the FPM free papers session submitted at the ANZCA Annual Scientific Meeting.	
	The Dean announced that Dr Joanna Vo has been awarded the "Best Free Paper Award" for 'Substantial savings possible with direction of funds to outpatient pain management'.	



8.	Other business Outgoing FPM Dean Dr Kieran Davis congratulated Dr Dilip Kapur on taking office as the incoming FPM Dean, and wished him well in the role over the next two years No other items of business were tabled in advance of the meeting.	
	The FPM Dean thanked everyone for attending and the meeting concluded at 12.25pm (AEST).	Chair

Ś

Signature:

Date: 10 July 2024

Chair, FPM Dean Dr Kieran Davis