

FPM Board Annual General Meeting

Minutes

Meeting number:2022/05Meeting date:1 May 2022Meeting time:2.00pm (AEST)Meeting venue:Via Zoom

Members:

A/Prof Michael Vagg FPM Dean and Chair

Dr Kieran Davis FPM Vice-dean and Dean-elect

Dr Tipu Aamir Member

Dr Chris Cokis ANZCA President-elect and Vice-President

Dr Gretel Davidson New Fellow member

Dr Stephanie Oak Member
Dr Murray Taverner Member

In attendance:

Mr Nigel Fidgeon ANZCA CEO

Ms Leone English Executive Director FPM

Ms Anna Kleskovic FPM Board and Executive Committee Secretariat

Ms Caroline Beaney Training, Accreditation and Communications Admin Officer

Apologies:

Dr Vanessa Beavis, ANZCA President (NZ) Dr Matthew Crawford (NSW)

Dr Harry Eeman, Board member (Vic) Dr Susie Lord, Board member (NSW)

Prof Nikolai Bogduk (NSW) A/Prof Newman Harris, Board member (Qld)

Dr Stephanie Clare (NZ)

Fellows present:

Dr Leinani S Aiono-Le Tagaloa (NZ) Dr Rajiv Menon (WA)

Prof Milton Cohen (NSW) Dr Vidya Shirumalla (NSW)

Dr Joanna Cheung (NSW) Dr Melissa Viney (Vic)

Dr Kate Drummond (NSW) Prof Michael Veltman (WA)

Dr Brigitte Gertoberens (NZ) Dr Tai-Tak Wan (NSW)

Dr Brian Hue (WA) Dr Benjamin Warlow (Qld)

Dr David Holthouse (WA)

Dr Noam Winter (Vic)

Dr James Jarman (WA) Dr Andrew Weiss (NSW)

Dr Don Johnson (WA)



Item		Speaker
	Chair's welcome	Chair
	The Dean welcomed FPM board members, fellows and staff to the virtual 2022 Annual General Meeting of the Faculty of Pain Medicine.	
1.	Apologies	Chair
	Board members Dr Vanessa Beavis, Dr Harry Eeman, Associate Professor Newman Harris and Dr Susie Lord were noted as apologies.	
2.	Confirmation of minutes	Chair
	There being no amendments, the minutes of the FPM Annual General Meeting held on 9 May 2021, were accepted as an accurate record of the meeting.	
3.	FPM board report	Chair
	The Dean extended his thanks to the efforts of fellows, committee members, trainees and staff who worked tirelessly throughout the year, to ensure that the work of the faculty continued, despite the ongoing challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic.	
	Key items highlighted from the report included the formation of a working group to assess the feasibility of a developing a primary pathway to fellowship; and the introduction of the Practice Assessment Pathway to fellows who wish to seek faculty endorsement in clinical care standards.	
	Members noted the FPM Board report provided by the Dean.	
4.	Annual financial reports	L English
	COVID-19 continued to have a significant impact on the operations of the college during 2021, with various planned activities either cancelled, deferred or held in a virtual or hybrid format.	
	A complete set of the financials from the 2021 Annual Report was made available via the website, with an overview of the faculty's financial position provided to members.	
	Although an operating surplus for the year ending 31 December 2021 has been recorded, the college has budgeted for a deficit in 2022, and subsequent deficits in 2023 and 2024, with significant investment in strategic activities planned to be carried out. These strategic activities will be funded by cash surplus' from prior years.	
	Members noted the financial reports for the year ending 31 December 2021.	
5.	Declaration of the polls for the FPM Board election	Chair
	Four nominations were received for three vacancies on the 2022 FPM Board, with 38% of the fellowship casting a vote in the FPM Board election.	
	The dean congratulated and welcomed elected Board members Dr Dilip Kapur, Professor Michael Veltman and Dr Noam Winter to the Board. The unsuccessful candidate, Dr Richard Sullivan was thanked for nominating.	
	With the faculty by-law silent on the process of appointing a new board member to the role of FPM Vice-Dean, the Board determined at the April Board meeting, to nominate Dr Dilip Kapur in the role of FPM Vice-Dean-elect, and who will take office from the 2022 FPM New Board meeting.	
	The Dean expressed his appreciation to the contributions made by departing Board members Dr Harry Eeman and Associate Professor Newman Harris, who have resigned from the Board. Also farewelled was Dr Vanessa Beavis who concluded her term on the Board as the ANZCA President.	
	Members noted the outcome of the declaration of the polls for the 2022 FPM Board election.	



	One nomination was received for the single co-option position on the FPM Board. The Dean welcomed co-opted board member Satualafaalagilagi Dr Leinani Salamasina Aiono-Le-	
	Tagaloa to the FPM Board.	
	Members noted the co-option Satualafaalagilagi Dr Leinani Salamasina Aiono-Le- Tagaloa to the FPM Board.	
6.	Other business	Chair
	Members noted that the "Best Free Paper" is awarded for original work judged to be the best contribution to the Free Paper session of FPM.	
	The Dean announced that Associate Professor Meredith Craigie has been awarded the prize, for her presentation on "Improving the quality and consistency of Australian health professionals' knowledge and skills in contemporary pain care".	
	Update from CEO	N Fidgeon
	Mr Nigel Fidgeon provided a high-level overview of proposed changes to the ANZCA Constitution which has been tabled on the agenda of the ANZCA AGM meeting scheduled for 2 May 2022. The main changes are in relation to:	5
	Accreditation/compliance changes, including the provision of two new 'objects';	
	 Technical changes in clause 24 of the constitution, which deals with the Australian Taxation Office requirements if the college was ever to wound up; 	,
	Changes in use of language to allow for the use of virtual and hybrid meetings;	
	 Composition of council in relation to co-opted observers, to include representation of the chair of the New Zealand National Committee on the Council; and the composition of the ANZCA Executive updated to formally include the FPM Dean; 	
	 Modernisation of terminology in respect to current use of pro-nouns, replacing she/her with them/their; 	
	 Update to the administrative and constitutional flexibility in relation to the ANZCA regulations; 	
	Update to the clause in relation to the use of the seal.	
	A pre-recorded recording of the FPM Dean's handover, from Associate Professor Michael Vagg to Dr Kieran Davis, was played to members.	
	With no further business, the FPM Dean thanked everyone for attending and the meeting concluded at 2.40pm (AEST).	Chair