ANZCA Council meeting update

Read a report of the ANZCA Council meeting held from 19-20 February 2021 via video conference.

ANZCA Council welcomed chairs of the Queensland Regional Committee, Dr Chris Stonell and the Western Australia Regional Committee, Dr Tania Rogerson, and Dr Katherine Gough, ANZCA Trainee Committee Co-Chair, as well as Dr Sheila Hart, President, New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists (NZSA) and Dr Nicole Fairweather representing the Australian Society of Anaesthetists (ASA).

Education and training

Council noted that work continues to progress on the Perioperative Medicine Diploma. It is anticipated that curriculum modules for this diploma will be finalised later in the year, though other aspects such as recognition of prior experience, training site accreditation standards and advocacy have yet to begin. 

A new diploma of Rural and Remote Medicine is being developed with the aim of accepting trainees for the 2022 hospital employment year. We continue to engage with the college of GPs and the College of Rural and Remote Medicine to have a high quality, fit for purpose qualification.

Council considered and approved development of a dual pathway training program, in collaboration with the College of Intensive Care Medicine, to produce graduates with knowledge and skills to practice in both anaesthesia and intensive care medicine. The training program offers a pathway leading to the awarding of the postnominals of both FANZCA and FCICM. 

Council also addressed the Medical Board of Australia’s Medical training survey results and areas of ongoing concern including assessment of exams and bullying and harassment.


The president has recently corresponded with a number of Australian and New Zealand health officials including Australia’s Chief Medical Officer, Professor Paul Kelly, and New Zealand’s Director-General of Health Dr Ashley Bloomfield to seek information and clarification about the rollout of COVID-19 vaccines and who qualifies as a frontline worker. Professor Kelly has indicated that anyone on a COVID-19 or resuscitation team will be in the priority (or 1a) cohort.

ANZCA Annual Scientific Meeting

Registrations for the 2021 ANZCA Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) opened in mid-January and there has been a steady response to date. The 2021 ASM will be a virtual meeting with a central hub in Melbourne and in capital cities around Australia and New Zealand. 

Councillors were encouraged to promote the capital city engagement hubs which allows delegates to connect with their local community.  
Appointments to a number of 2022 ASM roles were approved including scientific co-convenor, Dr Ed Debenham, and ASM visitor, Professor Ramani Moonesinghe.

ANZCA Foundation and research

Councillors discussed a number of strategic matters concerning the ANZCA Research Foundation. Immediate Past President Dr Rod Mitchell will use this discussion to inform a paper for further consideration when council meets in April. 


Councillors were provided with an update of the financial performance and financial positon for the year ended 31 December 2020. Auditors are currently assessing accounts with nothing of concern highlighted to date.

Māori name for the college

Council considered and accepted a te reo Māori name that was gifted to the college. Te Whare Tohu o Te Hau Whakaora speaks to the importance of the role of anaesthetists and pain medicine specialists in restoring health and “life essence”/Mauri of their patients. Te Whare Tohu denotes the status of the college, or literally a “significant house” and Te Hau Whakaora means “The Life-Giving Breath”. The te reo Māori name was launched at the New Zealand Cultural and Safety Leadership Hui held in Waitangi on 28 February 2021. 

ACE review

A review of the tripartite relationship between ANZCA, the Australian Society of Anaesthetists and the New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists is planned. Together they (as the  Anaesthesia Continuing Education (ACE) committee), are responsible for the governance, administration and support for events held by special interest groups and continuing medical education committees. 

The current memorandum of understanding was developed at least seven years ago and describes the principles and criteria required for effective financial management and reporting between ANZCA, ASA and NZSA. 
Council noted, the review, which aims to develop a balanced, fair and equitable agreement for all parties, should be finalised by June 2021.


Council noted fellows awarded in the 2021 Australian honours list:

Member of the Order of Australia

Dr David Edward SCHUSTER, AM, from NSW 
For significant service to medicine as an anaesthetist, and to the community of Dubbo.

Dr Bruce Gregory LISTER, AM, from Queensland
For significant service to paediatric intensive care medicine, and to professional societies.

Medal of the Order of Australia

Dr Judith Carmen LYNCH, OAM, from NSW  
For service to medicine, particularly to anaesthesiology.

Dr David Mickle SCOTT, OAM, from NSW 
For service to medicine, particularly to anaesthetics.


Councillors noting the passing of esteemed colleagues Dr Peter Lillie, FANZCA, and Dr Glenn Bakyew, FANZCA.

Find out more about …

Last updated 11:45 12.04.2021