ANZCA Council meeting update April 2022

10 April 2022

Read a report of the ANZCA Council meeting held from 8-9 April 2022 at ANZCA House, 630 St Kilda Road, Melbourne.

ANZCA Council  welcomed the New Zealand National Committee chair Dr Sally Ure, NSW Regional Committee chair Associate Professor Nicole Philips and newly appointed ANZCA Trainee Committee  co-chair Dr Alec Beresford to its open session.  

Council was also pleased to welcome and hear updates from the following society and specialty medical college presidents: The Australian Society of Anaesthetists (Dr Andrew Miller), the New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists (Dr Sheila Hart), the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (Dr Sally Langley), the College of Intensive Care Medicine (Dr Mary Pinder) and the Hong Kong College of Anaesthesiologists (Dr Hing-yu So).


Financial report: Councillors noted the ANZCA financial reports to 31 December 2021 and authorised the president and vice-president to sign off the financial statements and other relevant documents.
Councillors noted the audit findings and recommendations by Grant Thornton along with management representation letters for Australia and New Zealand.

Constitution: Councillors endorsed an ANZCA Constitution change, which adds to a number of proposed amendments previously endorsed by council at its meeting in February 2022. An explanatory note outlining all constitutional changes will accompany the notice of the annual general meeting that takes place virtually on 2 May 2022.  

Vice-president-elect: Following a secret ballot, the president, Dr Vanessa Beavis declared Professor David Story as vice-president-elect.

Reaccreditation: Council approved the 2022 ANZCA and FPM Australian Medical Council (AMC) and the New Zealand Medical Council (NZMC) reaccreditation written submission development process, as a thorough and accurate reflection of the college training programs, continuing professional development program and specialist international medical graduate assessment process. The submission was presented to the AMC and the NZMC on 12 April. A college-wide accreditation process takes place in July 2022.

Fellowship Affairs

Annual Scientific Meeting 2022: Councillors noted that as of 8 April, there were 900 registrations for the 2022 Perth ANZCA Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM). The FPM Symposium registrant number was 156. Councillors acknowledged the Events team has worked extremely hard and the Regional Organising Committee has done an amazing job over an extended, protracted time given the delays in the ability to hold the ASM in Perth in 2020.

The ASM scientific program 29 April-3 May is preceded by the Emerging Leaders Conference from 26-28 April.

Education and Training

Perioperative medicine diploma: Council gave in-principle approval for the curriculum learning outcomes and the proposed model of delivery ahead of the next phase of curriculum and content development of the Diploma of Perioperative Medicine.

ANZCA councillor Dr Sean McManus chairs the multi-college Perioperative Medicine Steering Committee overseeing this work.

Diploma of rural generalist anaesthesia

Councillors noted an update about the Diploma of Rural Generalist Anaesthesia (DRGA) and approved the establishment of the DRGA Examination Committee workplace, proposed to manage and administer the MCQ and StAMPS examinations.

Councillors also approved the workplace - based assessment tools for inclusion in the DRGA handbook.

Councillors noted a recent meeting of the DRGA Tripartite Committee, chaired by councillor Associate Professor Deborah Wilson,  where DRGA costs were discussed.


Councillors noted the passing of esteemed colleagues Dr Helene Wood (NSW), Dr John Holmes (NSW), Dr Keith Payne (South Africa), Dr John Marum (Vic), Dr Mark Thackray (WA), Dr Susan Winter (Vic) and Dr Rhian Murray (Qld).

Last updated 14:52 5.05.2022