President's council summary July 2022

16 August 2022

Read a report of the ANZCA Council meeting held from 22-23 July 2022 in Melbourne.

This is a report of the ANZCA Council meeting held from 22-23 July 2022 at the W Hotel, Melbourne. Information about ANZCA Council and its committees can be found here.

Council welcomed the New Zealand National Committee chair Dr Graham Roper, Queensland Regional Committee chair Dr Paul Lee-Archer, ACT Regional Committee chair Dr Natalie Marshall and ANZCA Trainee Committee co-chair Dr Harsh Dubey to its internal session.  
Council was also pleased to welcome and hear updates from the Australasian College of Surgeons’ Vice-President, Professor Chris Pyke, the College of Intensive Care Medicine’s Immediate Past President, Dr Mary Pinder, and the Hong Kong College of Anaesthesiologists chief executive officer Ms Kristy Cheung.

Corporate services

Strategic plan: Council provided feedback on the draft 2023-2025 strategic plan. A final draft will be prepared for council approval in September 2022.

Fees: Council noted a report following a review undertaken by KPMG to undertake analysis of the existing fee schedule about best practice and comparable organisations. Council approved several recommendations with an implementation and communications plan to be developed that will provide more transparent and equitable fee structure options.  
Council discussed and provided feedback on the appropriateness of 2023 budget parameters and endorsed the parameters for inclusion in the 2023 budget setting process.

IT support: Council approved provision of access to the college Zoom platform and ANZCA email addresses for councillors, FPM Board members, committee chairs and other fellows as assessed and approved by the ICT Governance Committee to support them in their roles.

Fellowship affairs

GoodSam app: Following legal advice from the college solicitor, council approved the promotion of the GoodSam App through college communications channels to members in Australia and New Zealand.

ASM: Council approved appointments to:

  • The 2024 Brisbane ANZCA Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM co-convenor and scientific co-convenor: Dr Paul Lee-Archer and Dr Sarah Bowman.
  • The 2024 councillor-in-residence and councillor on the regional organising committee: Dr Bridget Effeney.
  • The 2023 ASM College Ceremony orator: Dr Gareth Andrews.

Membership: Councillors approved the withdrawal of membership for fellows of the college due to non-payment of 2022 subscriptions and noted the voluntary resignation from membership of fellows in 2022.

Education and training

CPD: Councillors noted a report about the updated continuing professional development (CPD) program requirements and supporting transition process to meet the updated Medical Council New Zealand and Medical Board of Australia/Australian Medical Council obligations.
A communications and implementation plan are developed to support the introduction of the updated 2023 CPD program.

Diploma of rural generalist anaesthesia: Councillors noted and approved several recommendations concerning the Diploma of Rural Generalist Anaesthesia (DRGA) including:

  • Recognition of prior learning and experience.
  • Model of delivery for the DRGA Standardised Structured Scenario-based assessment.
  • Accreditation of DRGA training sites.
  • Establishment and members of the DRGA Grandparenting Working Group.
Competency based medical education (CBME): Council approved workplace-based assessments (WBAs) and a multiple-choice question paper (MCQ) for the initial assessment of anaesthetic competence (IAAC) as part of the CBME working group recommendations. Councillors noted the timelines for CBME activities and that a pilot and evaluation strategy will be forthcoming in late 2022.

Perioperative medicine: Councillors noted an update on the perioperative medicine (POM) project including
  • The establishment of several governance groups.
  • The POM risk register.
  • A report from the POM Content and Assessment Working Group. Councillors noted a DipPOM framework will be provided for consideration of council following further development by the POM Content and Assessment Working Group.
  • The project timeline of high-level activities and milestones.

 Professional guidelines: Council approved professional document PG67 (G) End-of-Life care and accompanying background paper (PG67) (G) BP).

Honours, appointments and higher degrees

Councillors noted FANZCA’s recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours 2022.
Awarded an OAM:
Dr Michelle Mulligan, NSW For service to medicine, particularly to anaesthesia.
Dr Jennifer Stedmon, WA For service to medicine in the field of anaesthesia.


Councillors noted the passing of esteemed colleagues Dr Jean Allison (Vic), Dr Keith Barker (WA), Dr Christopher Evans (NZ) and Dr Rhyanon Murray (Qld).

Last updated 16:06 27.10.2022