ANZCA Council meeting update (June 2021)

Read a report of the ANZCA Council meeting held from 25-26 June 2021 via video conference.

ANZCA Council welcomed Associate Professor Nicole Phillips, chair of the NSW Regional Committee,  Dr Sally Ure, chair of the New Zealand National Committee, and ANZCA Trainee Committee Co-chair Dr Cameron Maxwell.

Council also welcomed Dr Fiona Johnson, Chair, Final Examination Sub-Committee and Dr Julia Coldrey, Chair, Primary Examination Sub-Committee who provided updates on a number of matters concerning delivery of exams during the COVID-19 pandemic and for the remainder of 2021.

Dr Mary Pinder, President, College of Intensive Care Medicine and Professor Chi-wai Cheung, President and Ms Kristy Cheung, CEO, of the Hong Kong College of Anaesthesiologists attended the council’s open session meeting and provided updates from their respective college..


Councillors agreed on a set of budget parameters for the development of the 2022 budget and approved a revised funding formula for the ANZCA Research Foundation.

Councillors provided feedback on the formation of an awards committee and its delegation which includes adjudicating the nominations for ANZCA awards, and presenting recommendations annually to council for endorsement. Council will consider this matter further at its meeting in August 2021.

Councillors noted and provided feedback on the Training Evolution Project, a multiyear project that focuses on renewal of the anaesthesia training program to ensure it continues to meet minimum standards for accreditation by the Australian Medical Council and Medical Council of New Zealand, and to continue to provide world-class training for vocational specialist anaesthesia trainees.

Councillors noted progress to date on the Life Long Learning Project, which will be making recommendations for technical solutions to uplift the educational capability of the college and will be progressed over coming years.

ANZCA Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM)

Council was pleased to note the successful 2021 ASM with 75 online workshops including what could be the world’s first virtual CICO (can’t intubate can’t oxygenate) workshop. The smaller and more intimate ceremonies held in hubs across Australia, New Zealand and Hong Kong were very popular.

Council approved the nominations of 2023 Sydney ASM Co-convenors Dr Shanel Cameron and Dr Tanya Selak and the 2023 ASM Scientific Convenor, Dr Stefan Dieleman.

Council appointed Associate Professor Leonie Watterson as the councillor-in-residence for the Emerging Leaders Conference and the councillor on the 2023 NSW Regional Organising Committee.

Trainees and education

Council noted an update on the development and implementation of the diploma of rural generalist anaesthesia (DRGA). The implementation of the DRGA was approved for the commencement in the 2023 hospital employment year.

Condolences and honours

Councillors noting the passing of colleagues Dr Richard (Rick) Champion (SA), Dr William Ross (Vic) and Dr Michael Boquest (Vic).

Councillors noted the FANZCAs and those with close ties to the college honoured in the 2021 Queen’s birthday honours:

Member in the General Division (AM)
Professor Michael Heywood BENNETT AM (NSW)
For significant service to medical education, and to hyperbaric medicine.

Dr Nigel Ronald JONES AM (SA)
For significant service to neurosurgical medicine, and to medical societies.

For significant service to child welfare, to diabetes research, and to the community.

Member in the General Division (OAM)
Dr Scott Comber FORTEY OAM (NSW)
For service to medicine as an anaesthetist. Scott Fortey is a former chair of the NSW Regional Committee.

Dr John David PAULL OAM (Tas)
For service to medicine, and to history. John Paull had a long involvement with ANZCA and the Faculty of Anaesthetists – chair of the Victorian Regional Committee, a Travers Professor, Australasian Visitor, Chair of the Final Exam Committee to name a few. More recently he was honorary archivist and runs the annual Pugh Lecture in Launceston.

Medal in the Military Division (OAM)
Colonel Susan Kaye WINTER OAM (Vic)
For meritorious service as a specialist anaesthetist and intensivist on multiple overseas deployments and specialist medical advisor to the 2nd General Health Battalion, 3rd Health Support Battalion and Army Health Services. Note: Conspicuous Service Cross (2003). 

Last updated 11:20 17.08.2021