ANZCA Council meeting update - November 2022

17 November 2022

Read a report of the ANZCA Council meeting held from 3-4 November in Melbourne.

Council welcomed the New Zealand National Committee chair Dr Graham Roper, NSW Regional Committee chair Associate Professor Nicole Phillips, SA/NT Regional Committee chair Dr Nagesh Nanjappa, and Trainee Committee Co-chair Dr Harsh Dubey to its internal and open sessions.   

Council was also pleased to welcome and hear updates from the following specialty medical colleges and societies. The College of Intensive Care Medicine President, Dr Rob Bevan, the Australian Society of Anaesthetists President, Dr Andrew Miller, the Hong Kong College of Anaesthesiologists President, Dr Hing-yu So and his colleague Ms Kristy Cheung, CEO.


Corporate services

Council considered and approved the following:

  • 2023 operational budget
  • 2023 non-operating (investments) budget
  • 2024-2025 budget projections, acknowledging that these are estimates for planning purposes only, and the budgets for each year will be updated and require subsequent formalisation and council approval in 2024 and 2025 respectively.
  • 2023 fee schedule

Council noted the following:

  • September 2022 financial report
  • Risk register report

Education and training

Following council’s approval of the updated CPD requirements in July 2022, CPD-Review Project Group members and the CPD team have updated the CPD standards, Mandatory compliance policy and Special consideration policy to reflect the updated requirements and the regulatory bodies’ revised CPD guidelines. These items have been endorsed by the CPD review project group and the CPD Committee via e-vote. Endorsement was provided from the ANZCA Professional Affairs Executive Committee at their November meeting. 

Professional Affairs

Council approved the extension of the Training Progression Group’s authority to approve deferral of EMAC to the post fellowship year for an additional twelve months, expiring at the end of the 2023 hospital employment year noting the impact COVID has had on availability and attendance.

Fellowship Affairs

Council reviewed and considered a draft copy of the Australian and New Zealand Women’s Empowerment and Leadership Initiative and noted that over the next six months, a series of activities inclusive of committee establishment, mentor and mentee program development and a communication plan will be put in place with an official launch of WELI-AUS NZ in May 2023.

Policy and Communications

PG09(G) – Guideline on Procedural Sedation
Council discussed and approved the professional document PG09(G) – Guideline on Procedural  Sedation, for a 6-month pilot period.  

Request for endorsement of - Prevention of unrecognised oesophageal intubation: consensus guideline
The Safety and Quality Committee was again asked to consider ANZCA’s endorsement of this guideline.  The Committee consensus view was to advise against ANZCA endorsement.    Council discussed and considered matters and agreed to uphold this decision of the Safety and Quality Committee but will consider other ways of promulgating this important message.

Appointment of short-term Director of Professional Affairs: Perioperative Medicine Professional Documents
Council approved the appointment of Dr Vanessa Beavis as the Director of Professional Affairs: Perioperative Medicine Professional Documents for a period of two months to undertake the required work to support the delivery of this qualification in the second half of 2023.

Regulation Amendments

Regulation 2 updates
Council approved the following regulation 2 updates:

  • The inclusion of the Gender Equity Subcommittee, the Environmental Sustainability Network Executive Subcommittee, and the Awards Advisory Panel.
  • The inclusion of a New Zealand-based committee member and an Australian (a fellow), being appointed as the committee co-chair by ANZCA Council.

As a result, council approved the appointment of Dr Vanessa Beavis, as the POM Steering Committee co-chair. Congratulations Vanessa!

Honours, appointments and higher degrees

Councillors noted the following FANZCA:

  • Dr Forbes McGain is a joint awardee of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences & Engineering (ATSE) Clunies Ross Knowledge Commercialisation Award.


Councillors noted the passing of esteemed colleagues Dr Kerry Delaney (NSW), Dr Graham Murray (NSW), Dr Bernard Xavier Kehoe (QLD), Dr Arthur Penberthy (VIC), Dr Max Griffith (VIC), Dr Victor Yeo (Hong Kong) and Dr Tom Mohler (TAS).

Last updated 12:03 14.11.2022