Reflections on the 2023 ASM

18 May 2023

Enjoy some highlights from our first face-to-face ANZCA Annual Scientific Meeting in three years.

Thank you to the wonderful Sydney 2023 Regional Organising Committee for hosting such a great meeting.

Over five fabulous days we hosted 2489 delegates (494 virtual) who heard 176 speakers in six plenary and 40 concurrent sessions; attended 137 workshops, masterclasses, and small group discussions; met with 47 healthcare industry exhibitors; and enjoyed an incredible array of social activities from fun runs to the gala dinner.

From left to right: ANZCA President Dr Chris Cokis, ASM Co-Convenors Dr Shanel Cameron and Dr Tanya Selak, Scientific Convenor A/Prof Stefan Dieleman, FPM ASM Scientific Convenor A/Prof Kok Eng Khor, FPM ASM Deputy Scientific Convenor Dr Candice Wallman, Workshop and SGD Co-Convenors Dr Tim Cooper and Dr Andrea Binks, ELC Co-Convenors Dr Jessica Lim and Dr Chris Yong, Trainee Representative Dr Cameron Dunn, HCI Convenor Dr Amy Lawrence, FPM ASM Officer Dr Noam Winter, ANZCA Councillor Prof Leonie Watterson, and ASM DPA A/Prof Nicole Phillips. (Not pictured: ePoster Convenor Dr Ben Moran)

Thank you to our keynote speakers

Our scientific program featured 176 expert speakers and facilitators from all around the world, including six keynote speakers. In lieu of gifts, we presented a $A10,000 cheque to Lifebox on behalf of all ASM speakers, presenters, facilitators and contributors.

Welcome to our new fellows

On Saturday 6 May we held our 2023 College Ceremony - the biggest on record, with more than 260 new ANZCA and FPM fellows presenting. Nearly 900 people around the world watched the College Ceremony livestream on Facebook, with another 350 watching on YouTube. We look forward to seeing your anaesthesia and pain medicine careers blossom! 

Congratulations to our 2023 prize winners

Gilbert Brown Prize
Dr Nathan Peters for 'Low-level versus high-level disinfection of ultrasound transducers after standardised contamination on skin: a non-inferiority randomised controlled trial. ULTIMO’.
ANZCA Trainee Research Prize
Dr Anna Tanios for 'The effect of type of anaesthetic on delirium after surgery for acute hip fracture: an instrumental variable analysis’.
ANZCA Trainee Quality Improvement Prize
Dr Daniel Brooks Reid for 'A photographic assessment of operating theatre sharps waste bins in 21 Australian and New Zealand hospitals’.
Open ePoster Prize
Dr Ianthe Boden for ‘Impact of pulmonary complications on hospital costs and length of stay after major abdominal surgery: a multicentre prospective observational cohort study’.
ASM Trainee ePoster Prize
Dr Tobin Steens for 'Truncal regional analgesia for midline procedures: a meta-analysis and systematic review’.
FPM Dean’s Prize
Dr Karen Joseph for ‘Acceptability of an interdisciplinary chronic pelvic pain self-management programme in a small group format’.
FPM best free paper
Dr Jessica Barry for ‘Substantial savings possible with direction of funds to outpatient pain management’.

ASM in the media

The ANZCA Communications team issued seven media releases on a diverse range of topics including the perioperative medicine launch, doctors’ burnout, menopause, the language of pain and the museum oral archive project. So far more than 250 articles and radio broadcasts have run (with more to come) and nearly five million people have read or listened to articles and broadcasts.

More than 400 people “joined the conversation” via the hashtag #ASM23SYD which has been used in 3000 tweets totalling more than 17 million impressions. Our ASM video interviews and “hot takes” clocked up more than 160 hours of view time on YouTube alone.

Our 2023 ASM playlist features video interviews, ROC hot takes, and highlights from the 2023 ANZCA Annual Scientific Meeting in Sydney 5-9 May 2023.

Launch of the ANZCA DipPOM

ANZCA President Dr Chris Cokis launched our new, world-first Diploma of Perioperative Medicine (DipPOM) at the Sunday morning plenary session.

Satellite meetings

In addition to the ASM we held three satellite meetings in and around Sydney. The 2023 FPM Symposium had more than 260 delegates (68 virtual), and the Obstetric Anaesthesia Special Interest Group Meeting had 274 delegates in person and 189 virtual. The Emerging Leaders Conference had 50 delegates, mentors and speakers.

Missed the ASM?

You can still sign up as a virtual delegate, registration is open until 30 June. All registered delegates will have access to watch any of the onDemand content until 30 June 2024.

A full wrap up of the ASM will be included in the winter edition of ANZCA Bulletin.

Last updated 15:53 21.05.2023