FPM prize winners

The faculty would like to congratulate the winners of various FPM prizes that were presented during the 2021 ASM.

Robert Orton Medal

The significant contribution of Professor Milton Cohen to the discipline of pain medicine both in Australia and internationally, and the development of the faculty was recognised with the Robert Orton Medal. The Robert Orton Medal is the highest honour the college can award to its fellows and is awarded at the discretion of ANZCA Council, the sole criterion being distinguished service to anaesthesia, preoperative medicine and/or pain medicine. 

Professor Cohen was recognised as a leader, clinician, teacher, researcher and mentor. His incisive analysis and wise counsel has made him a valuable contributor to the college and FPM Board for many years. The full citation can be found on page 14 of the Winter 2020 edition of the Bulletin

Best free paper and Dean's Prize

The faculty would like to congratulate Dr Roopa Gawarikar and Dr Megan Allen on being awarded the 2020 FPM Dean’s Prize and 2021 Best Free Paper Award.

Dr Roopa Gawarikar was awarded 2020 Dean’s Prize for her paper, ‘Targeting two birds with one stone: Efficacy of ketamine in pain and opioid reduction’.

Dr Megan Allen was awarded the 2021 Best Free Paper for ‘Opioid stewardship assessment a multicentre study of post discharge opioid use and handling in surgical patients’.

The Barbara Walker Prize

The 2020 Barbara Walker Prize was presented to Dr Hannah Bennett by Associate Professor Newman Harris at the Queensland remote hub at the ASM. Dr Bennett was awarded the prize for achieving the highest mark in the 2020 fellowship exam.

Last updated 16:16 19.01.2022