New ANZCA President  

03 May 2022

Dr Chris Cokis succeeds Dr Vanessa Beavis as ANZCA President in today's handover ceremony

The ceremonial handover of the ANZCA presidency occurs every two years at the close of our annual scientific meeting (ASM).
Despite this year’s meeting being staged as a fully virtual event we were able to get President Dr Vanessa Beavis and President-elect Dr Chris Cokis together at the ASM hub in Adelaide for today’s ceremony.
Dr Cokis is a specialist anaesthetist at Fiona Stanley Hospital in Perth. He was first elected to the ANZCA Council in 2016. He has held several key positions, including ANZCA vice-president, chair of the Final Exam Sub-Committee, chair of the Education Executive Management Committee and honorary treasurer.
He has clinical interests in cardiac and thoracic anaesthesia, is co-head of department at Fiona Stanley Fremantle Hospital group and leads the cardio-thoracic service there. 
Dr Cokis says the last two years have seen unprecedented challenges for frontline medical clinicians and heath care teams.

"Our anaesthetists, trainees and specialist medical graduates have often worked under intense pressure in, and for, their local communities.
“During my presidency I would like to re-engage with the fellowship and acknowledge the enormous and committed volunteer workforce we have.”
The media release on the new ANZCA and FPM leadership is here.
The updated ANZCA Council details are here

Last updated 15:01 25.05.2022