



FPM Board Annual Business Meeting

Minutes

Meeting number: 2023/03 Meeting date: 7 May 2023

Meeting time: 12.00-12.30pm AEST Meeting venue: Cockle Bay Room 2, at the International

Convention Centre, Sydney NSW

Members:

Dr Kieran Davis FPM Dean

Dr Dilip Kapur FPM Vice-Dean

Dr Tipu Aamir Member
Dr Leinani Salamasina Aiono Le-Tagaloa Member

Dr Gretel Davidson New Fellow member

Dr Susie Lord Member
Dr Murray Taverner Member
Dr Noam Winter Member
Dr Michael Veltman Member

Dr Chris Cokis ANZCA President

Dr Scott Ma ANZCA Council representative

In attendance:

Mr Nigel Fidgeon ANZCA CEO

Ms Leone English Executive Director FPM

Ms Anna Kleskovic FPM Board and Executive Committee Secretariat

Apologies:

Prof Milton Cohen (NSW) Michael Pollack (NSW)
Dr David Gronow (NSW) Dr Graham Rice (QLD)

Michelle O'Brien (QLD) Dr Geoff Speldewinde (ACT)

Fellows present:

Dr Supriya Chowdhury (NSW)

Dr Charlotte Johnstone (NSW)

Prof Andrew Somogyi (SA)

Prof Andrew Somogyi (SA)

Prof Andrew Somogyi (SA)

Prof Andrew Somogyi (SA)

Dr Benjamin Teo (NSW)

Dr Matthew Green (SA)

Dr Rebecca Martin (NSW)

A/Prof Mick Vagg (Vic)

Dr Mominul Hassan (NSW)

Dr Robin Park (Qld)

Dr Milana Votrubec (NSW)

Dr Chris Hayes (NSW) Dr Amrita Prasad (Vic) Dr Tai Tak Wan (NSW)

Dr Irina Hollington (SA) Prof Ted Shipton (NZ) A/Prof Paul Wrigley (NSW)



Item		Speaker
	Chair's welcome	Chair
	The Dean welcomed FPM board members, fellows and staff to the 2023 Annual Business Meeting of the Faculty of Pain Medicine.	
1.	Apologies	Chair
	An apology was provided by board member Dr Stephanie Oak and FPM fellows as detailed above.	
2.	Confirmation of minutes	Chair
	There being no amendments, the minutes of the FPM Annual General Meeting held on 1 May 2022, were accepted as an accurate record of the meeting.	
3.	FPM board report	Chair
	Key items highlighted from the Dean's report included the ANZCA and FPM re-accreditation review undertaken in 2022 by the Australian Medical Council and the Medical Council of New Zealand, and the key outcomes to be addressed over the next three years; the continued advocacy efforts by the faculty for the profession and patients, for improvement of access to pain services; the development of an Australian National Pain Management Health Practitioner Education Strategy; engagement with the Medicare Benefits Schedule taskforce in relation to pain related item numbers; the continued work of the FPM New Zealand National Committee with the New Zealand Ministry of Health for a national model of care, which is now complete and ready for implementation	
	Members noted the appointment of A/Prof Mick Vagg as the FPM Director of Professional Affairs, in professional affairs and Dr Melissa Viney FPM Director of Professional Affairs in education.	
	The Dean extended his thanks to the efforts of fellows, committee members, trainees and staff in ensuring that the work of the faculty continued. In particular Prof Milton Cohen, who retired after 24 years of service with the faculty, in the roles of board member, dean and a director of professional affairs.	
	Members noted the FPM Board report provided by the Dean.	
4.	Annual financial reports A complete set of the financials from the 2022 Annual Report was made available via the website in the lead up to the meeting, with no questions arising.	L English
	Members noted the financial reports for the year ending 31 December 2022.	
5.	Declaration of the polls for election of members to the FPM Board	Chair
	Three nominations were received for two vacancies on the 2023 FPM Board. The faculty proceeded to an election between 14-30 January 2023, with 39% of the fellowship casting a vote. The dean congratulated Dr Murray Taverner on his re-election and welcomed Dr Amanda Wisely to the FPM Board. The unsuccessful candidate, A/Prof Tillman Boesel was thanked for nominating.	
	Members noted the outcome of the declaration of the polls for the 2023 FPM Board election.	
	The faculty received two applications for the position of the New Fellow representative on the FPM Board. The faculty proceeded to an election between 15-29 March 2023, with 53% of new fellows casting a vote. Dr Amrita Prasad was successfully elected as the New Fellow representative and welcomed to the FPM Board. The unsuccessful candidate Dr Rachel Halpin-Evans was thanked for nominating. The Dean expressed his appreciation to Dr Gretel Davidson who has concluded her term on the Board as the New Fellow representative.	
		



	Members noted the outcome of the declaration of the polls for FPM New Fellow election.	
6.	Dean's Prize	Chair
	The 'FPM Dean's Prize' recognises the FPM fellow or trainee judged to have presented the most original pain medicine/pain research paper, of sufficient standard, at the free papers session of the ANZCA Annual Scientific Meeting.	
	The Dean announced that the 'FPM Dean's Prize' was awarded to Dr Karen Joseph for her paper on 'Acceptability of an interdisciplinary chronic pelvic pain self-management programme in a small group format'.	
7.	Best Free Paper Award	
	The award is judged on the best contribution to the FPM free papers session submitted at the ANZCA Annual Scientific Meeting.	
	The Dean announced that Dr Jessica Barry was awarded the Best Free Paper prize for 'Substantial savings possible with direction of funds to outpatient pain management'.	
8.	Other business	
	No other items of business were tabled in advance of the meeting.	
	However, the Dean opened the floor to questions, with the following queries raised: PS14(PM) Statement on the responsibility for co-prescription of oral and intrathecal opioids 2023 currently out for pilot; the faculty's current position statement medicinal cannabis and the 'plain English' statement; the implications of the procedures endorsement program in relation to the return to practice document.	
	The FPM Dean thanked everyone for attending and the meeting concluded at 12.25pm (AEST).	Chair