Diving and hyperbaric medicine


ANZCA Diploma of Advanced Diving and Hyperbaric Medicine

The ANZCA Diploma of Advanced DHM was launched on July 31, 2017, under the governance of the ANZCA DHM Sub-Committee, based on the recommendations of the DHM Project Group.


Curriculum, regulations and handbooks

The following documents govern DHM training:


Transition to the diploma training program

Applications for transition closed on August 28, 2017.


Transitional award of diploma and recognition of prior experience

Until January 31, 2019, provisions are available to holders of the ANZCA certificate of DHM and highly experienced practitioners of DHM for transitional award of the diploma and recognition of prior experience. These guidelines define the eligibility requirements and should be used when completing the application form.

The following fees apply:



New Zealand (includes 15 per cent GST)

Application fee

$A330 (includes 10 per cent GST)


Award of transition credits fee (payable after assessment has been made)



Additional fees may apply if you are required to undertake a summative assessment.

Registering for diploma training

Information regarding registration and recognition of prior learning will be published prior to July 31, 2017.


DHM Exaination application form 2018
Closing date   May 9, 2018       Venue
Withdrawal date June 12, 2018      Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne, Perth and
Written sections:
short answer questions        
June 27, 2018
Viva examination July 27, 2018 Melbourne

Late applications and late documentation will not be accepted after the closing date. All application fees are to be paid in full. No payment plans will be granted.


Applications are accepted via email only. Acknowledgement of applications will be done via email within 48 hours of receipt by the College, except for weekends and holidays, these will be acknowledged within 48 hours of the next working day.

Training-related forms

Clinical placement review form – these are required for each training placement. Refer to handbook section 3.8 for more information.

  • Placement logbook – used to record and track cases completed within a placement.
  • Program logbook – used to track progress against training program requirements. This should be used in conjunction with the placement logbook.

Workplace-based assessments:
Application for diploma – to be used by trainees who have completed all diploma requirements and are seeking award of the diploma

Course application form – to be used by trainees seeking to undertake a diving or hyperbaric medicine related course that is not included in the preapproved list.

Co-supervision of training – to be used by trainees undertaking training in an accredited unit that does not have a diving and hyperbaric medicine (DHM) supervisor of training (SOT).

Training sites and supervisors

DHM facilities that were previously accredited to deliver the Diving and Hyperbaric Medicine Certificate training have been granted conditional accreditation by the ANZCA Council for one year (July 31, 2017 – July 31, 2018) to provide training for the Diploma of Advanced Diving and Hyperbaric Medicine.

During this one year of conditional accreditation, the facility is able to provide training to Diploma of Advanced DHM trainees during this period only. DHM facilities will need to re-apply for accredition before July 31, 2018.
Accreditation requirements will be available on the ANZCA website once the Accreditation
Standards are approved by Standards Australia. The college is monitoring this closely.

The following is a list of all facilities accredited by ANZCA for Diploma Training:

Facility name 



Approved training duration

Department of Diving and Hyperbaric Medicine, Prince Of Wales Hospital


Dr Jan Lehm 44 weeks FTE

Department of Diving and Hyperbaric Medicine, Royal Hobart Hospital


Dr David Smart 44 weeks FTE

Diving and Hyperbaric Unit, The Alfred Hospital


Dr Andrew Fock 44 weeks FTE

Hyperbaric Medicine Unit, Fiona Stanley Fremantle Hospitals Group


Dr Neil Banham 44 weeks FTE

Hyperbaric Medicine Unit, The Townsville Hospital


Dr Christopher Jelliffe 44 weeks FTE

Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital Hyperbaric Medicine Service


Dr Kenneth Thistlethwaite and
Dr Robert Webb
44 weeks FTE

Supervisors of training
Each unit will have at least one supervisor of training. New supervisors may be nominated using this form.

Fees for 2018



New Zealand (includes 15 per cent GST)

Registration fee



Annual training fee



Recognition of prior learning (RPL) application fee

$A340 (includes 10 per cent GST)


RPL award fee (payable after assessment has been made)



Examination fee



Examination withdrawal fee



Diploma holder fee

$A565 (includes 10 per cent GST)


DHM Certificate Holder fee (on- Diploma) $A135 $NZ150

Please direct any queries to dhm@anzca.edu.au or ANZCA reception +61 3 9510 6299.
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.