A/Prof Leonie Watterson, FANZCA (NSW)

A/Prof Leonie Watterson, FANZCA (NSW)

ANZCA Councillor 

MBBS 1989, FANZCA 1997, Master of Clinical Education 2007, GradDipOrgCoachLeadership (2018), GAICD (2020)

Nominated by: Dr Vanessa Beavis (NZ) and Dr Michael Jones (NSW) 2022

Candidate statement

Leonie is a NSW based anaesthetist with special interests in obstetric anaesthesia, acute pain and and perioperative medicine. She has a long-standing commitment to education and professional development having served on ANZCA committees for over two decades.

Since her election to ANZCA Council three years ago, she has substantially invested in initiatives aimed to support trainees and the wider anaesthesia community to respond to the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic and to evolve ANZCA's world class training programs.

Leonie has extensive leadership and financial management experience through roles as a company director, in simulation and through a wide range of committee work. She brings diverse experinence and thinking to her council roles.

If re-elected to council, she will continue to work to advance the interests of anaesthesia and pain medicine as specialties, to ensure ANZCA is a vital and sustainable organisation and to advocate for trainees and fellows throughout all stages of their diverse careers. 


Current and previous service on ANZCA committees and other roles

  • Educational Executive Management Committee, Chair - 2020 to date.
  • Technology assisted examinations working group, Chair - 2020-2021.
  • Medical Viva Redesign Working Group, Chairr - 2020-2021.
  • ANZCA Trainee Committee, Ex-officio as ANZCA councillor -  2020 to date.
  • Gender Equity Subcommittee - 2017 to date. Chair - 2017-2020.
  • NSW Regional Committee, Ex-officio as ANZCA councillor -  2019 to date.
  • Professional Affairs Executive Committee, member  - 2016-2018. Chair - 2018-2020.
  • ANZCA Fellowship Affairs Committee - 2010-2016.
  • ANZCA Continuing Professional Development Committee -  2018-2020.
  • NSW Anaesthesia Continuing Education Committee (NSWACE) - 2000-2010. Chair - 2009-2010.
  • ANZCA Simulation Special Interest Group, Chair - 2007-2010.
  • ANZCA Anaesthesia Education Special Interest Group, Executive Committee - 2002-2008.
  • PS61 Guidelines for the Management of Evolving Airway Obstruction: Transition to the Can't Intubate Can't Oxygenate Airway Emergency, Document development group - 2015.
  • CPD Mandatory Emergency Response workshops: CICO and ALS. Working groups - 2013.

Past and/or current appointments in other relevant professional organisations

  • NSW Medical Council Performance Assessment Program. Assessor - 2002 to date.
  • Northern Sydney Local Health District, Leadership Advisory Committee - 2020 to date.
  • Northern Sydney Local Health District, Diversity, Inclusion and Belonging Committee - 2020 to date.
  • Royal Hospital for Women, Clinical Council, Co-chair - 2020 to date.
  • Royal Hospital for Women, Resuscitation Advisory Committee, Chair - 2022
  • Northern Sydney Local Health District, Resuscitation Advisory Committee - 2017-2019.
  • Royal North Shore Hospital, Junior Medical Officer Wellbeing Committee - 2016-2019.
  • Commonwealth Department of Health and Aging, Health Workforce Australia NHETSim Management Committee - 2013-2014.
  • Commonwealth Department of Health and Aging, Health Workforce Australia Simulated Learning Environments Project Advisory Group - 2010-2014.
  • Commonwealth Department of Health and Aging Enhanced Medical Education Advisory Committee (EMEAC) - 2007-2009.
  • Australian Council for Safety and Quality in Healthcare “National Patient Safety Curriculum Project” Clinical Reference Group - 2004-2005.
  • Australian Society for Simulation in Healthcare (ASSH) - 2007-2011, Inaugural Chair - 2007-2009.
  • Company Director, Simulation Australia (nee Simulation Industry Association of Australia) - 2007-2009.

Follow on Twitter

Last updated 11:15 31.03.2022