Steuart Henderson Award

Awarded to a fellow who has demonstrated excellence andSteuart-Henderson.jpg provided outstanding contribution, scholarship, and mentorship to medical education in the field of anaesthesia and/or pain medicine.

The award is named after Dr Steuart Henderson who served as an ANZCA councillor from 1992 to 2004, working particularly in education and training and as assessor. He also served for 12 years as a member of the Panel of Examiners and has had a long-standing interest in the applications of simulation to training and professional development. He was instrumental in establishing New Zealand’s first simulation-based clinical training centre in New Zealand.

The award recognises the profile of educators within the college and honours Dr Henderson for his past efforts and contribution to medical education. It takes the form of a medal, certificate and grant of $A1000 for educational or research purposes.

Eligibility criteria

All fellows of ANZCA and FPM are eligible for the award. Consideration will be given as to the nominee's contribution to education in anaesthesia and/or pain education in the following categories:

  • Teaching and learning: Significant contribution and commitment to teaching and learning activities within the fields of anaesthesia and/or pain medicine.
  • Mentoring and influence: Extraordinary educational influence on trainees, fellows, or educational organisations.
  • Research and conference presentations: Published medical education research in peer-reviewed journals and/or peer-reviewed acceptance of a medical education abstract at a national or international conference.
  • Resource development: Such activities that contribute to the planning or development of improvements or innovations in medical education in the fields of anaesthesia and/or pain medicine. Contributions in this category could include, for example: new courses, revision of current courses, curriculum development.
  • Educational leadership: Activities of any kind that constitute leadership and contribute substantially to medical education leadership within anaesthetic and/or pain medicine; for example, representation on a committee related to medical education at ANZCA, university, hospital, or professional association.

Nomination process

Candidates must be nominated and seconded by an ANZCA or FPM fellow. Self-nomination will not be accepted.

The nomination must consist of a cover letter written by one or both of the nominators explaining the rationale and justification for the nomination and be accompanied by the nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Nominations must be made in writing to the chair of the ANZCA Educators Sub-Committee by February 15 each year via the ANZCA Education Unit

Past recipients




2023   Melissa Viney VIC


Joel Symons



Adam Rehak



Damian Castanelli



Kersi Jalejar Taraporewalla



Jennifer Weller



Meredith Craigie


Related content

Find out how we support the continuing medical education of our fellows, trainees and specialist international medical graduates.
17 Dec 2020


Everything you need to know about college elections, including dates, eligibility, and campaignin...

Find out more

EMAC course

Effective Management of Anaesthetic Crises (EMAC) is a simulation-based course focused on managin...

Find out more

Other college awards and prizes

Our awards, prizes and medals recognise the achievements of ANZCA and FPM trainees and fellows in areas such as the advancement and promotion of specialist medicine; exam performance; clinical research; education; and pastoral care.


The ANZCA Medal recognises major contributions by fellows to the status of anaesthesia, intensive...

Find out more


Awarded in recognition of those who make extraordinary and critically important contributions (cl...

Find out more
Last updated 12:01 20.11.2023