South Australia Anaesthetic Mortality Committee (SAAMC)

SAAMC's role is to analyse adverse event information, specifically patient mortality, from health services related to anaesthesia with the objective of recommending quality improvement initiatives.

This will assist in formulating action areas to prevent or reduce the likelihood or severity of future adverse events. All reports submitted are confidential and will be de-identified before review.

Committee members



Dr Simon Jenkins 

Chair, ANZCA

Dr Michael Abbott   


Ms Cathie Hashemi


Dr Brigid Brown


Dr James Dennis


Dr Preeti Ananda Krishna


A/Professor Anthony Pohl


Dr Lisa McEwin


Dr Mary White



Regional Health Services Representative 

Michelle Gully

Committee support (non - member)

CPD points for submitting reports to SAAMC

Anaesthetists submitting a report to the South Australia Anaesthetic Mortality Committee can claim continuing professional development points under the ANZCA Continuing Professional Development Program, while assisting the committee in its objective of ensuring the continued safe practice of anaesthesia.

Expansion of the surgical mortality audits includes the collaboration between the South Australian Audit of Surgical Mortality (SAASM) and the South Australian Anaesthetic Mortality Committee (SAAMC).

SAAMC forms and templates

Select Document Download Type
SAAMC mortality reporting form (for anaesthetists) PDF
SAAMC mortality reporting form (for surgeons and proceduralists) PDF
Download selected

Last updated 14:30 26.03.2024

We have strengthen password complexity. If you are unable to log in using your existing password, please reset your password. For assistance, please contact service desk via [email protected]