ANZCA Council meeting update - November 2023

16 November 2023

Read a report of the ANZCA Council meeting held on 2-3 November in person.

Council welcomed the New Zealand National Committee Chair Dr Graham Roper, Western Australian Regional Committee Chair Dr Marlene Johnson, Queensland Regional Committee Chair Associate Professor Paul Lee-Archer, Tasmanian Regional Committee Chair Dr Bruce Newman and ANZCA Trainee Committee Co-chairs Dr Anthony Notaras and Dr Alec Beresford to its internal session. 

Corporate Services

Councillors approved the following:

  • The 2024 operational budget.
  • The 2024 non-operating (investments) budget.
  • The 2024 fee schedule.

Councillors noted the following:

Education and Training

Continuing professional development (CPD)
Council was asked to note the changes to the continuing professional development (CPD) standard including the new CPD activities.

Periperative medicine (POM)
Council was asked to approve the establishment of a Chapter of Perioperative Medicine and the ANZCA Perioperative Care Framework.

Training accreditation
Council was asked to approve the amendments to the Training Accreditation Committee (TAC) handbook which will be published on 5 December.

Effective 1 January 2024, council approved the establishment of the following specialist international medical graduate (SIMG) maintenance fees (including GST) for those whose individual program is interrupted:


 New Zealand

 SIMG maintenance fee (anaesthesia or     pain medicine)



 SIMG maintenance fee (dual anaesthesia   or pain medicine




Councillors noted the passing of colleagues Dr Daryl Salmon (NSW), Dr Abdul Aleem (SA), Dr Patricia Coyle (NSW), Dr Clement Chu (NSW), Dr Michael Kister (Vic) and Dr John Williamson (Vic).

Last updated 14:17 17.11.2023